Get Your Free Audiobook

Kiss of Death

Detective Mark Heckenburg, Book 7
Narrated by: Paul Thornley
Series: DS Heckenburg, Book 7
Length: 13 hrs and 30 mins
4 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

Non-member price: $22.03

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Could this be the end for Heck?  

The Sunday Times best seller returns with an unforgettable crime thriller. For fans of MJ Arlidge and Stuart MacBride.

Don’t let them catch you....

A Deadly Hunt

DS ‘Heck’ Heckenburg has been tasked with retrieving one of the UK’s most wanted men. But the trail runs cold when Heck discovers a videotape showing the fugitive in a fight for his life. A fight he has no chance of winning.

A Dangerous Game

Heck realises that there’s another player in this game of cat and mouse, and this time they’ve not just caught the prize: they’ve made sure no one else ever does.

A Man Who Plays with Fire

How far will Heck and his team go to protect some of the UK’s most brutal killers? And what price is he willing to pay?

©2018 Paul Finch (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Edge-of-the-seat reading...Heck is formidable - a British Alex Cross." (Sun)

"Wonderfully dark and peppered with grim humour. Finch is a born storyteller and writes with the authentic voice of the ex-copper he is." (Peter James)

"An ingenious and original plot. Compulsive reading." (Rachel Abbott)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Margaret
  • Margaret
  • 21-05-2019

Not Finch's best.

Pretty average installment to the series. I found this dragging and overwrought towards the end and actually skipped a few chapters. Thornley was good, as always. The ending made me think even Finch wants a do-over.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CM
  • CM
  • 17-08-2018

what will happen now !!

I love these books by Paul Finch they are a bit gruesome in places but so well written and fast paced that they are a joy to listen to especially as the narrator Paul Tornley is perfect, he is DS " Heck " Heckenburg and he does a great job with all the other characters. No spoilers but this book ended on a huge cliffhanger hence "What will happen next" can't wait to find out so hurry up Paul Finch!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mike duxbury
  • mike duxbury
  • 11-08-2018

Awesom again!

Paul finch has done it for the seventh time, i have never read anything as great as the heckenburg series, i feel i know all the people the stories are outstanding yet the reality is so credible if gemma piper is dead god help those who get in heck’s way. Thank you paul finch and lets see another very soon.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 27-01-2019

excellent listening

loved it and looking forward to getting more stories by Paul Finch about ds heckinberg

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ally
  • Ally
  • 24-01-2019

Great listen as always. Hooked in from the start.

This writer / narrator combo is simply the best in audio books for me. I can listen to Paul Thornley all day long and it never takes me long to get through a Paul Finch. Can't wait for the next episode to find out if Gemma Piper survived.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 22-12-2018

Shock and Surprise regarding the ending

loved it, I was very surprised that the plot took the twist that it did. Please don't kill her off, let her live. Beautifully read and written. Can't wait for book 8. I have thoroughly enjoyed every single book. Can't listen to them quick enough.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for shaun simon
  • shaun simon
  • 11-10-2018

Great story

I'd been waiting a while for this release. Story was very exciting.

Narration brilliant as always.

As with the other books in the series did not disappoint. Solid book.

Just wondering what to feed my appetite on now?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 20-09-2018

Reslly enjoyed, but dam what a finale:

Was possible the best, fastest paced and riveting of Heck, but its not over till its over !!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Matt
  • Matt
  • 06-09-2018

What a finish!

Not going to spoil it but Paul Finch has excelled himself yet again with another riveting installment of the Heck novels. couldn't wait to get in my car to go to work as it meant I could get lost back in the crazy world of Mark Heckenberg. This should be a must listen for crime fiction fans.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chris P
  • Chris P
  • 04-09-2018

The series is excellent and the latest instalment no exception.

More please, always wanting to do a one sit listen sadly never can so I guess this is the equivalent ‘audible’ of don’t wont to put the book down.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms Alison B Gilchrist
  • Ms Alison B Gilchrist
  • 03-09-2018

Excellent!

Having just finished listening to 'Kiss of Death', I have completed the entire DS Heckenburg series. The writing and narration are excellent. I recommend reading the series in order. It allows you to immerse yourself in/get to know the main character, and just adds even more depth to the story. Fantastic series of books. Read them!! I guarantee you will not be disappointed!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BDM
  • BDM
  • 26-08-2018

The Best Heck Book Yet

Paul Finch knocked it out of the park again with another gripping rollercoaster ride. The book summary does not do it justice. Loved it I can't wait for the next one.

1 person found this helpful