Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $5.56

After 2 months, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A Captain shielded by his mother’s rank. An enemy determined to buy freedom with blood. A battle no one expected to fight.

Captain Isaac Gallant is the only son of the dictator of the Confederacy, his career slowed by a dozen measures to protect his reputation and safety alike - but he has no intention of being a pampered child. He is determined to do his duty. An attempt to force his crew to acknowledge their own duties puts his ship in a unique position to intervene when an overwhelming rebel attack is launched on one of the Confederacy’s most critical facilities. The rebels didn’t expect to fight anyone. The Confederacy didn’t expect Isaac Gallant to fight at all. All of them were wrong.

©2018 Glynn Stewart (P)2021 Podium Audio

What listeners say about Ashen Stars

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Truth Matters
  • Truth Matters
  • 04-03-2021

Enjoyable short

Short - less than 2 hour, detailed account of the 1st (major) battle in the dictator's son's lackluster career.
Accounts well for himself considered everyone had beeen sheltering him from any chance of being in a precarious situation.
Done in fine fashion, as al this author's stories are.
This was covered, from what I remember in another book, but this short gives an expanded look into this piece of action & I think will be enjoyed by any fan of rhe series.
Loved getting a great freebie like this woth my membership!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brian
  • Brian
  • 19-06-2021

Made it 7 minutes before I ended it.

Glynn Stewart is a very good author. That said, starting a story with a very boring dialog didn’t hook me in (why should I care - that has to be in there pretty close to up front). Narration was okay but the spoken words didn’t match the emotion/tension/dynamic of the written. Words being read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for StevenG890
  • StevenG890
  • 29-05-2021

Wow!!!! What a story.

Where can I get the paper back??
As I see, it was great. Like e-books but some time printed books are best. Just wished they were not so bulky.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jarvis Kolen
  • Jarvis Kolen
  • 28-05-2021

Narrator made it

Great book that left me ready to hit the bank and invest more into the series. The narrator brought this to life a way I’m not sure another could have

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sheldon Latimer
  • Sheldon Latimer
  • 10-05-2021

A great book ,

It was short but was able to follow along , the narrator was great

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jking1024
  • jking1024
  • 26-04-2021

Short but good

This was a nice, short prequel to the rest of the series. Good story for its size.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for drew
  • drew
  • 24-04-2021

Brilliant

An incredible piece of Sci-Fi space opera equal to any of Roddenberry’s great adventures!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M.P.I.
  • M.P.I.
  • 04-03-2021

solid but not spectacular

yes this is a short story and as such won't have near the depth of a full book. I guess I was expecting a little more than it delivered however. if you haven't read/listened to book 1 then stop reading if you dont want spoilers...

ok. so we knew from book 1 that it starts off with adm. Isaac Gallant coming out of the shadows in rebellion of his mother and the confederacy. I expected this to lead up to that point. instead the clock was rolled back further & this story never got to the point of his full secret rebellion coming out into the open where book 1 started. I was expecting this prequel to fill that gap in a bit more and is why it left me wanting more.

it was fine to explain how he became the heir apparent to his mother and the confederacy through his, ahem, gallant actions ;). and how he had the seeds of disillusion planted in this prequel leading up to his rebellion that book 1 starts off with. thats why I consider this a solid entry...but spectacular would have been bringing this up to the point of his outright rebellion and partnering with the unknown and secret leader of the rebellion that book 1 explains and unfolds. I would say this book probably needed 1-2 more hours to fill in that gap...kind of like what expeditionary force did with their smaller books that were 1/2 to 1/3 the normal book length (roughly 4 hours each). this book is just under 2 hours and again...not bad, pretty solid, but definitely left me wishing for more of the story between where this ended and book 1 begins.

ps. again JD Jackson as a narrator was also decent after listening to book 1, its what I expected. but I was also hoping for a little more. he still narrates and speaks as character as if speaking to an elementary aged audience. but im grateful there was no f bombs in this prequel which was rather jarring to hear combined with the elementary aged style of Jackson. perhaps I could ding this to 3 stars for performance if I was being cruel, but no swearing gives this a tie breaker to 4 stars. I was truly hoping that perhaps Jackson would grow into the role for this series a little more...a bit more gravitas and seriousness to the story set in a rough and tumble galactic struggle (and likely why book 1 contained quite a bit of language to try to make it edgier...but truly unnecessary if narrated better imho). but hey always room to grow right?

oh. speed 1.05x is much easier to listen to (maybe even 1.1x). just my personal preference! :D

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer Baratta
  • Jennifer Baratta
  • 26-01-2021

JD Jackson is an excellent narrator.

For fans of Glynn Stewart this book is for you. for fans of Babylon 5, Star Trek Star Wars this book is for you.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for P Flynn
  • P Flynn
  • 31-05-2021

excellent story

great little story, firs in nicely to the bigger picture. how things had been shaped.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CJSILV
  • CJSILV
  • 26-02-2021

Great 👍

Loved the book great book series I highly recommend listen to it and the rest of the books

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.