Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Would you forgive your child anything?

The murder of a young girl found barefoot in a country park and the re-emergence of shoes from the victims of a serial killer from over 40 years ago. A coincidence or a connection?

Will Blake is determined to find out, but as he unearths the past, questions are raised about the original investigations, and it becomes clear that The Wirral has a killer on the loose, once again.

Victor Hunt, father of Drucilla, the last victim back in the '80s, lies in a hospice, with weeks to live. The truth lies hidden in Hunt’s tangled family tree and the actions of his wayward daughter. Time is against Blake and his fractious team. If they don’t get to the root of past crimes, then innocent blood will flow again.

A Poison Tree is the first thrilling mystery in the Will Blake crime series. A great listen for fans of Luca Veste's DI Murphy and JD Kirk’s Jack Logan series.

Discover A Poison Tree and get involved in this exciting investigative series today.

©2020 Jonathan E. Mayhew (P)2020 Jonathan E. Mayhew

What listeners say about A Poison Tree

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 1.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melanie Preston Lewis
  • Melanie Preston Lewis
  • 26-09-2020

Great start to a new series

I was excited to start a new series, especially when the detective is named William Blake, a genius idea. Within the first few sentences I was intrigued. The action starts straight away and doesn't let up until the final word. The story is quite complicated with a number of people involved, and a few times I struggled with who was whom and where they fit in. However, that never impacted on my enjoyment of the book, as all the cards in the deck were displayed clearly at the end. We learn that Blake has an interesting back story but we will have to be patient as dark secrets were alluded to but not revealed. Serafina provided us with some light relief so the darkness of the book was never overwhelming. Owen Welsh narrates well although I'm not expert enough to distinguish between different Liverpudlian accents so they all felt spot on to me. An action packed book with credible police officers who I hope I'll have a long relationship with as this series should run and run. Get in at the ground level - I have a feeling this is going to be BIG.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan M
  • Jan M
  • 14-10-2020

Awesome Twists

A Poison Tree by J.E. Mayhew pulled me in from the very beginning. I have been enjoying police procedural books and found this one to be captivating. The narrator, Owen Welsh, gave an authentic sounding accent to my ears for the setting. At times I could not clearing hear who was speaking though. The ending was very well done and had a satisfying outcome.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TerryHeth
  • TerryHeth
  • 16-10-2020

Fab book

A new series to get hooked on. Yes please.
Fab characters & ive a feeling as the books develop they will expand & become addictive.
The story was full on and really interesting. I listened until it ended in 2 days. Rewinding if I was interrupted.
Narrator was great. A nice voice to get lost in.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. Richard Wilde
  • Mr. Richard Wilde
  • 17-01-2021

Excellent whodunnit.

Thoroughly enjoyed A Poison Tree.
Plenty of red herrings keep you guessing to the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for niamh bonner
  • niamh bonner
  • 15-10-2020

More please

This is one of those detective series that I'm going to have on preoreder. I really enjoyed this book and have any follow ups in my tblt list.
The narration brought each carachter to life and it was a great listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda M
  • Linda M
  • 12-10-2020

Fab Debut narration (OK I'm biased!)

I will fess up from the start. This is my husbands book and yeah I think the story is great. Intriguing characters and a twisting plot that has you guessing to the end. However I really wanted to post a review to congratulate our young narrator on his first audiobook production. Owen Welsh is a fabulous young Liverpool actor who graduated from Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts (LIPA) and landed into a world of closed theatres and cancelled productions :(
However he has looked for opportunities to develop, and invested in the equipment and skills to launch himself into audiobook production. Although we only live on opposite sides of the River Mersey we still haven't actually met, but I have worked closely (remotely), with him to produce this authentic local audio version. I certainly enjoyed producing it and gained appreciation for the skill and versatility of narrators.

DCI Will Blake leads the team and Owen says he based his voice on his dad when he's grumpy (sounds like John Bishop to me !). I strongly recommend you give the audio version a try for an exciting scouse mystery thriller, that manages to keep its sense of humour too..... (but then I would do wouldn't I ? !!).

Books 2 and 3 of the series are under production now.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 16-08-2020

Fantastic

Great book and easy to listen to. Very refreshing to have a local accent to tell a local story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Captain Keith
  • Captain Keith
  • 22-11-2020

Unsure.

Not really my cup of tea. A lot of characters and took a long time to unfold.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SandraL
  • SandraL
  • 05-10-2020

Promising start to a new series

I really enjoyed this first book in the DCI William Blake (genius name!) series set on the Wirral. It is well written with quite a complicated plot with enough twists and turns to keep me interested right till the end.

I liked the character of DCI Blake, who I feel has a very interesting backstory which so far we have only scratched the surface of. Loved Seraphina the cat and hope she features in the rest of the series!

I enjoyed the narration by Owen Welsh. The authentic Wirral/Scouse accent if the narrator helped me immerse myself in the story. Looking forward to the next in the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 16-08-2020

Riveting

Great listen. A very clever story portrayed beautifully by the narrator. Great character voices.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for san2har
  • san2har
  • 15-08-2020

Not credible

Completely unbelievable plot of revenge. The character of DCI Blake was quite endearing and the police characters were reasonably well drawn. However i found the rather screeching Scouse accent very irritating and sometimes the speed made it difficult to understand. it has promise but although I like a Liverpool accent this one did not gel with me

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for william rigby
  • william rigby
  • 11-08-2020

absolutely fantastic

story is gripping and narration is engaging and clear. a guaranteed recommendation to absolutely anyone.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.