Regular price: $30.38

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

One of Cosmopolitan's best books of 2017.

The first book in Eloisa James' dazzling new series set in the Georgian period glows with her trademark wit and charm. Things are about to get Wilde....

Lord Alaric Wilde, son of the Duke of Lindow, is the most celebrated man in England, revered for his dangerous adventures and rakish good looks.

Arriving home from years abroad, he has no idea of his own celebrity until his boat is met by mobs of screaming ladies. Alaric escapes to his father's castle, but just as he grasps that he's not only famous but notorious, he encounters the very private, very witty Miss Willa Ffynche.

Willa presents the façade of a serene young lady to the world. Her love of books and bawdy jokes is purely for the delight of her intimate friends. She wants nothing to do with a man whose private life is splashed over every newspaper.

Alaric has never met a woman he wanted for his own...until he meets Willa. He's never lost a battle.

But a spirited woman like Willa isn't going to make it easy....

Perfect for fans of Julia Quinn's Bridgertons and Eloisa's Desperate Duchesses

©2018 Eloisa James (P)2018 Hachette Audio UK

Critic Reviews

"Eloisa James is extraordinary." (Lisa Kleypas)

"Nothing gets me to a bookstore faster than Eloisa James." (Julia Quinn)

"Romance writing does not get much better than this." (People)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Poor Narration

Narration was very poor, emphasizing the wrong points of each sentence.
Hard to get past chapter 3

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

couldn't finish

is it just me but heroines are so perfectly beautiful and perfectly boring these days that it isn't possible to summon up any desire to wish them well. both pairs in this story were perfectly awful.