Get Your Free Audiobook

Where the Light Gets In

Narrated by: Karen Cass
Length: 14 hrs and 10 mins
4 out of 5 stars (49 ratings)

Non-member price: $36.45

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Random House presents the audiobook edition of Where the Light Gets In by Lucy Dillon, read by Karen Cass.

'You know those cracks in your heart, Lorna, where things didn’t work out, but you picked yourself up and carried on? That’s where the fear gets out. And where the light gets in.'

It was Betty, defiant to the end, who sent Lorna back to Longhampton. If Lorna’s learned one thing from Betty, it’s that courage is something you paint on like red lipstick, even when you’re panicking inside. And right now, with the keys to the town’s gallery in her hand, Lorna feels about as courageous as Betty’s anxious little dachshund trembling beside her.

Lorna’s come home to Longhampton to fulfil a long-held dream, but she knows deep down there are ghosts she needs to lay to rest first. This is where her tight-knit family shattered into silent pieces. It’s where her unspoken fears about herself took root and where her own secret, complicated love began. It’s not exactly a fresh start.

But as Lorna - and the little dog - tentatively open their cracked hearts to old friends and new ones, facing hard truths and fresh promises, something surprisingly beautiful begins to grow around the gallery, something so inspirational even Lorna couldn’t have predicted the light it lets into her world....

An inspiring, life-enhancing novel that will make you see your life afresh.... Fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Diamond and Veronica Henry will love it.

©2018 Lucy Dillon (P)2018 Random House Audiobooks

Critic Reviews

Praise for Lucy Dillon: "Bittersweet, lovely and ultimately redemptive; the kind of book that makes you want to live your own life better." (Jojo Moyes)

"This vibrant and uplifting novel has not only entertained me hugely, but made me change the way I look at life." (Katie Fforde)

 

"Satisfying and clever and deeply moving." (Sophie Kinsella)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Stunted

I generally love Lucy Dillon books to listen to but this reader is stunted and irritating to listen to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A heartwarming story

A beautiful reminder of the importance of love and kindness. A joy to listen to.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen Taylor
  • Helen Taylor
  • 26-05-2018

Charming and gentle, bittersweet as well, it draw

Themes of love and grief, bereavement, and hesitation to really let go into life. Well written with good likeable characters. Very enjoyable if, like me, you are looking for a gentle audiobook experience and not to be horrified, shocked or 'gripped'.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen Oberheim
  • Karen Oberheim
  • 26-05-2018

A gentle read

A sentimental story, pleasant, but also dealing with some big issues with tact. I enjoyed the cross-generational relationships - you don't get a lot of that in popular fiction.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-08-2018

A little bit bland

The story dragged. The highlight seemed to be hanging knitted, red apples on a leafless tree. The narrator had a strange habit of high up inflection at the end of nearly every sentence which personally I found annoying. I usually quite warm to this author ‘s writings; so this read was a disappointment for me. It was made worse by the narration.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. M. Thomas
  • C. M. Thomas
  • 25-10-2019

Great story, great writer

most enjoyable read, and thought provoking. Enjoyed the dogs who always get a mention in Lucy's stories.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for pauline rossiter
  • pauline rossiter
  • 13-10-2019

colourful and lovely

really enjoyed this book had a few tears but loved how it was brought to life through the descriptions

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debbie Wilson
  • Debbie Wilson
  • 11-09-2019

outstanding

from the beginning of this book to the end. v.u j
I have loved it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mrs jane kennedy
  • mrs jane kennedy
  • 10-02-2019

Beautifully written great listen

So enjoyable thank you .
I loved this book!
Beautifully written and narrated.
Warm and engaging ❤️

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for barbara
  • barbara
  • 03-02-2019

Brilliant

This is the most lovely story read beautifully br Karen Cass. From the beginning to the end I found it hard to put down. Thank you Lucy Dillon for writing such a wonderful gentle story. The ending I found most touching.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AD
  • AD
  • 09-01-2019

loved it..tender, heartfilling, strong & emotional

just loved thus intimate, intricate and full of sincere moments of lives captured. Brings an empowering, brave and celebration of vulnerability and passion to live with you.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MegaMegan
  • MegaMegan
  • 27-11-2018

Really enjoyable

I really enjoy Lucy Dillon’s books and how they very gently overlap. Another lovely story and was pleased to find out how some of the other characters from other books were getting on!