Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $15.19

After 2 months, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A powerful and heart-breaking novel about three childhood friends living during the Second World War, whose fates are closely intertwined, even when their lives take very different courses. For fans of Private Peaceful, The Book Thief and Anne Frank’s The Diary of a Young Girl.

Three friends. Two sides. One memory.

Vienna. 1936.

Three young friends - Leo, Elsa and Max - spend a perfect day together, unaware that around them Europe is descending into a growing darkness and that events soon mean that they will be cruelly ripped apart from each other. With their lives taking them across Europe - to Germany, England, Prague and Poland - will they ever find their way back to each other? Will they want to?  

Inspired by a true story, When the World Was Ours is an extraordinary novel that is as powerful as it is heartbreaking and shows how the bonds of love, family and friendship allow glimmers of hope to flourish, even in the most hopeless of times.

©2021 Liz Kessler (P)2021 Simon & Schuster UK

What listeners say about When the World Was Ours

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wayne Haddon
  • Wayne Haddon
  • 06-02-2021

Incredibly, amazingly sad

You will smile, Cry, and realise how precious life is and how lucky you are.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for l wod
  • l wod
  • 12-04-2021

A Great Read

Full of love, hope for the future and tragedy coming together to make a brilliant story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for savyshopper
  • savyshopper
  • 14-02-2021

Thought Provoking

I thougherly enjoyed this book. It made me hope nothing like this should happen again

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.