Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $19.75

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Prepare to fall head over heels. This is the perfect book for fans of Josie Silver, Richard Curtis and anyone who ever fell in love with the wrong person.

What if you couldn’t get away from the one who got away?

Unlucky in love Jess is following her dream and moving to London. It’s December, and she’s taking a room in a crumbling Notting Hill house‐share with four strangers. On her first night Jess meets Alex, the guy sharing her floor. They don’t kiss under the mistletoe, but as far as Jess is concerned, the connection is instant. She lets herself imagine how their relationship will grow over the following year. 

But when Jess returns from a Christmas holiday, she finds Alex has started dating someone else - beautiful Emma, who lives on the floor above them. Now Jess faces a year of bumping into (hell, sharing a bathroom with) the man of her dreams…and the woman of his. 

Jess is determined to move on and survive the next 12 months…but love has a way of hampering even the best laid plans.... 

Set over the course of one life‐changing year, this is the most uplifting and moving love story of 2019.

©2019 Rosie Curtis (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"Like putting on your favourite Christmas jumper: cosy, heartwarming and gorgeously romantic." (Holly Martin)

"A perfect festive hug of a book. It’s packed with brilliant characters, beautiful settings, warm humour and a love story guaranteed to steal your heart. I absolutely adored this clever, wonderful story. Get ready to meet your new favourite author!" (Miranda Dickinson)

What listeners say about We Met in December

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A bit boring really

Jess is a bit of a bland character, the romance is predictable and the story is a bit vanilla.
I can't be sure if it was the story that was boring or the narration that made me want to snooze every 5 minutes.
Although she has a nice voice with a warm tone and expression, Jessica Preddy has a slightly stilted, over-enunciated style similar to that of a kindergarten teacher reading a story book to children.... and her Scottish accent is distractingly woeful. The voice she uses for Jess's friend Jen, isn't dissimilar to that of a three-year-old little girl. Very annoying. Pretty sure I'll be avoiding books narrated by her in the future. Finlay Robertson does an okay job with Alex though.
Overall, you can save yourself 9 hours with this summary:
- Jess moves into a Notting Hill share-house
- Jess meets cute housemate
- 12 months later they start dating
Not much more than that happens.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-11-2019

Rather dull

I found this book very dull. Reading the first and last chapter would have told me all I needed to know. I did not warm to the characters or care if they got together or not.

The female narrator had some very dubious accents and the male narrator made the character sound permanently depressed. I felt the need to see it through to the end but needn’t have bothered.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen
  • Helen
  • 09-12-2019

An OK read

From the premise of the story, I really thought that I would have loved this, however I found it confusing and ultimately an OK read but it just wasn't for me.

We Met in December" implies that this is a Christmas romance. It's not—each chapter propels the plot into a different week/month of the year, showcasing small vignette-like scenes that kept me from becoming too invested in any one aspect of the character's lives, as the reader is never present in the same place long enough to have any meaningful connections. 

Overall We Met in December was a rather quick read but absolutely not a engrossing one. The start of the novel was slow whereas the conclusion of the story felt rushed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Liv
  • Liv
  • 09-07-2020

Sweet story

A lovely book and easy listen. The characters are normal people who you can invest in and the narration is lovely too. Would recommend :)

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wl
  • Wl
  • 11-10-2019

stupid story moany protagonist

STupid non romance romance. Male character is simply moaning and keeps shagging flat mate. And moaning. Other flat mate moons over him. Really unrealistic and stupid

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.