Get Your Free Audiobook

The Woman Next Door

A Psychological Thriller With a Stunning Twist
Narrated by: Katie Villa
Length: 8 hrs and 31 mins
4 out of 5 stars (18 ratings)

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

I suppose everyone has their reasons for living here. Who knows what lies behind the pretty curtains and the well-groomed lawns of Mulberry Avenue?

Lucy has a kind and adoring husband, a job she loves as a teacher, and a house on Mulberry Avenue with floaty curtains and the softest bed linen. After her troubled childhood, she knows life will never be perfect, but it’s pretty close.

She’s also got Amber, right next door. They never run out of things to talk about. Even if Amber’s life - with her high-profile job and handsome, wealthy boyfriend - is more glamorous than Lucy’s, they share a down-to-earth sense of humor.

But then Amber starts to hint that her life isn’t all it seems, and when she comes to Lucy, terrified, saying that she’s getting threatening messages, Lucy promises to protect her.

The closer Lucy gets to anyone, the harder it’ll be to keep her past to herself. But Amber doesn’t have anyone else, and Lucy welcomes her into her home.

Lucy knows all too well that people aren’t always what they seem. Sometimes they have secrets. And they’d do anything to keep them. Yet when Amber settles in a little too quickly, Lucy’s still sure: she can trust her friend...can’t she?

Gripping and pause-resisting, All Her Secrets tells a story about the dark side of friendship and has a final twist that will shock every listener. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Friend Request, and Clare Mackintosh.

Reviewers love Sue Watson:

"Tense, atmospheric psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Impeccably written and a big fat 5***** from me. Awesome!" (Number one best-selling author Angela Marsons)

"Gripping tension that builds and builds... I kept thinking I knew where she was going only to be knocked sideways... An absolute page turner of a read that sent my heart racing. Bravo to the new queen of psychological thrillers." (By the Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars)

"Most definitely a book that captures your imagination... A book that I literally did not put down." (Best Crime Books and More, 5 stars)
 

©2019 Sue Watson (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very satisfying ending

A bit slow in the beginning but half way through the book it got very interesting. Great twists!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jude
  • Western Australia
  • 20-06-2019

A little predictable

I did enjoy this but found it lacked the promised excitement and not sure the twist was stunning simply more predictable.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa
  • lisa
  • 13-06-2019

stick with it

I feel like this story could have easily been told in half the time. The writing was good, characters believable. Just seems to drag in alot of places, the end is the best part of the book.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sheryl Griffin
  • Sheryl Griffin
  • 23-06-2019

Great story!

A surprise ending! I had no idea! Well done! Characters are all very well fleshed out and drew me in immediately.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa Willett
  • Lisa Willett
  • 31-05-2019

VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!

Omg this story dragged on and on and on. It was so slow that I fast forward through so many chapters. There was so much repeated and it was annoying. I had the story figured out halfway through the book and the narration was a little irksome. I wouldn't recommend this book to a friend. I listen to about 15 books a month, in my car, while I clean, do work, etc and this one took so much to keep me listening to it. I wanted to quit so many times. Waste of a credit!!!

10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon customer
  • Amazon customer
  • 18-07-2019

Save a credit

Maybe I listen to too many psychological thrillers, but I had this book figured out within the first 30 minutes but kept listening, waiting for a surprising twist, which never came.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 04-07-2019

Predictable and annoying

The characters are overdone and unrealistic. Listening to them be such idiots and terrible people was hard.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 16-06-2019

Meh

The story goes along, plot is very predictable so the title of it being a “psychological thriller” is laughable. The book leads up to a major event and it just skips past all details and is really vague, it was anti climactic to say the least.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for keke
  • keke
  • 06-06-2019

Wow

Excellent thriller. Just enough twists and turns that kept me glued to this book;finishing in less than 2 days.
The narrator was great, the story was entertaining and the end was unexpected. Definitely recommend!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for deanna
  • deanna
  • 21-07-2019

Absolutely amazing

This is a great book. Could not stop listening. Then realized I was sad when it was over.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 20-07-2019

Not my type of book

The catty and petty woman drama really was not my favorite. The ‘twist’ was rather predictable, and if you don’t predict it, it won’t surprise you. I am sure this will suit someone, not for me though. Narrator was good though!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tiffany Brady
  • Tiffany Brady
  • 06-08-2019

So many twists and turns, it holds your interest!

This story had so many twists and turns. Sue Watson really makes you feel like you know the characters. You are on a wild ride, with everyone having secrets. If you are listening on Audible the Narrator is fantastic with all of the different voices. I highly recommend you sit down and buckle up, enjoy the roller coaster!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amanda
  • Amanda
  • 02-07-2019

Less psychological, more predictable

Certainly not a physiological thriller as you can predict the outcome of the story from about chapter 5. Easy listen, not challenging, performance was well done. Overall nothing special.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 27-06-2019

Stalker

This book is excellent. Couldn't stop listening to it. Lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing with a surprise at the end. Thoroughly enjoyed all the way through

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Heather
  • Heather
  • 14-06-2019

Shallow Women

Not a bad psychological thriller which did keep me hooked, with a few twists and turns. Very well read by Katie Villa, except that the voice she gave to Amber, the weather girl, was so grating and irritating that I wondered if I really wanted to spend so many hours in her and the equally annoying Lucy's company. Supposedly a 'weather girl' she would never get a job on TV with that voice!
But a good listen all the same.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms Millie123
  • Ms Millie123
  • 16-08-2019

Sue Watson's best book so far!

Enthralling plot and an interesting take on a stalker story. Superb, well executed and a must read. Sue Watson's name should be in the window display of every major book chain! But then I am a bit of a traditionalist. Nothing wrong with online purchase only Loved, loved, loved this book! I hope the humour was intended but one scene made me cry with laughter. Buy this and you won't be disappointed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Niki
  • Niki
  • 16-08-2019

Gripping story

Thoroughly enjoyed listening to this story, it kept me guessing right ?until the end !

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gwyneth Smith
  • Gwyneth Smith
  • 12-08-2019

Had me listening well into the night

Although this book had me listening well into the night I guessed the ending but not quite. Yes there's a twist. Nice book pity Lucy is such a nutcase.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janette O'Hanlon
  • Janette O'Hanlon
  • 23-07-2019

twist

gripping to the end. shouting at speaker not to fall for that. Was not expecting that ending.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marjorie Willcox
  • Marjorie Willcox
  • 14-07-2019

Absolute rubbish

Ridiculous characters and story. One of the worst books I’ve listened to.Should have stopped listening to it but was hoping for some redemption which never came.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MRS B.
  • MRS B.
  • 14-07-2019

Brilliant

Loved this book, best one I have listened to in a long time. Very good narrator too.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs J K Blakeman
  • Mrs J K Blakeman
  • 09-07-2019

Keeps you wanting more!

It is one of those books which keeps you entertained, wanting to get back to it as soon as you can.

I do wonder whether the author has any real knowledge of the life of a primary teacher, though. I can tell you, as a primary headteacher with 20 years experience, teachers almost never get home at 4pm and almost always have marking to do at home (or stay late at school to do this). I do wish primary teachers were portrayed accurately in fiction!