Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $30.38

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Written by Sophie Hannah, BA Paris, Clare Mackintosh, and Holly Bron, this psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Louise Candlish. 

How far would you go to protect your daughter? 

Four mothers must identify the true threat at their daughters' school before it's too late. 

Carolyn, Bronnie, Elise, and Kendall are bound together by one thing - their four daughters are best friends at the highly competitive Orla Flynn Academy for the Performing Arts. 

Last year the foursome exploded because of brutal bullying between the girls, but they've since forgiven each other. The mothers, however, haven't been able to move on. When new threats surface and 'accidents' begin to happen - just as a mysterious new girl enters the scene - the mothers take matters into their own hands. 

But they will have to risk their own secrets being exposed if they stand a chance at uncovering the truth.... 

Four incredible novelists come together to tell this unique, brilliantly written suspense story.

©2019 Sophie Hannah (P)2019 Serial Box

What listeners say about The Understudy

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 17-12-2019

Ridiculous

The MOST ridiculous book of all time. Adults acting like dramatic children with unbelievable characteristics. I had high hopes given the writers, however - a Really, really bad book. Narrators are not a problem - not their fault the story is so bad!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 22-05-2020

Avoid, avoid, avoid

Long winded and drawn out, don't waste your time or money. Predictable ending. Ultimately a very bad attempt at The Dectective Club's style of multi author written books. Characters are un likeable so you're not invested in the story and you're not invested in the story, do your self a favour and avoid.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kerry hastings
  • Kerry hastings
  • 15-04-2020

Quite twisty but very long

I love Sophie Hannah and also like BA Paris so thought I’d try this. Never read the other two but sure there must be similar! There are lots of good elements to this story and it has quite a few twists and turns which keep you guessing. It was a little too long and drawn out for me. All the characters seem to be baddies!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-11-2019

Very interesting plot

Quite a fascinating story. It went on a bit too long but very well written. The people were mostly unpleasant, and were sometimes within a whisper of being characatures , but I really enjoyed the book, and the integration between the writers was excellent. They must have had great fun.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.