Get Your Free Audiobook

The Terminal List

A Thriller
By: Jack Carr
Narrated by: Ray Porter
Length: 12 hrs and 3 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (24 ratings)
Non-member price: $33.21
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A Navy SEAL has nothing left to live for and everything to kill for after he discovers that the American government is behind the deaths of his team in this ripped-from-the-headlines political thriller.

On his last combat deployment, Lieutenant Commander James Reece's entire team was killed in a catastrophic ambush that also claimed the lives of the aircrew sent in to rescue them. But when those dearest to him are murdered on the day of his homecoming, Reece discovers that this was not an act of war by a foreign enemy but a conspiracy that runs to the highest levels of government.

Now, with no family and free from the military's command structure, Reece applies the lessons that he's learned in over a decade of constant warfare toward avenging the deaths of his family and teammates. With breathless pacing and relentless suspense, Reece ruthlessly targets his enemies in the upper echelons of power without regard for the laws of combat or the rule of law.

An intoxicating thriller that cautions against the seduction of absolute power and those who would do anything to achieve it, The Terminal List is perfect for fans of Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, Stephen Hunter, and Nelson DeMille.

©2018 Jack Carr (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

Critic Reviews

"Double the trouble, twice the action, and quadruple the enjoyment. Careful while reading this one, it could leave a mark." (Steve Berry, New York Times best-selling author of The Last Order)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping story start to finish

Beautifully tied up at the end .. I can't wait to see where and how the author brings James Reece back to shore and gives him a second chance at life.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating!

Amazing book, written by someone you know has lived in SOF world.
Can’t wait for the follow up!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great first half

Got a little carried away in the third quarter but then had an interesting ending

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • joe
  • 17-10-2018

A decent revenge story.

I mostly liked this book however I found sometimes it jumps forward in the story without explaining how it got there. Overall though, it was very entertaining.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Mick
  • Beaumaris, Australia
  • 05-03-2019

Make America Great Again!

I selected this book because Ray Porter has read some great books that I really enjoyed. With The Terminal List however, his talent is wasted. Simple plot where every goody is completely good and every baddy is totally evil and probably a democrat. No character development whatsoever and far-right political views weaved into the text. A thinly veiled republican propoganda piece that stinks to high heaven. Should come with a free MAGA cap.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • G. S.
  • 31-08-2018

Pretty good.

Story was ok if a little heavy on the overwrought machismo (what is it with Americans? - they can't just be highly trained soldiers they have to be 'elite warriors' - it always sounds a bit fragile ego to me - like bin men who insist on being called 'sanitary disposal engineers') .. I thought the narrator was very good though and really brought the story to life.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 24-06-2018

The NRA publishing

Reading and enjoying this book requires a solid military practice, knowledge, experience in guns.
Did not read it to the end. The idea is not new, the story is not written in way to keep the suspense. However if you like guns, support the NRA and affiliates and you are denying the man made global climate change it is your book.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • D V Thorburn
  • 22-06-2018

Brilliant!

Hope we see more of this author, great story and well narrated. Enjoyed very much

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bec
  • 04-04-2018

This should be made into a movie.

Best book I’ve listened to in a long time. Start to finish a thrilling ride.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mac
  • 25-01-2019

Really, really good

Exceeded narration. Good story. Described so well it was like watching a movie. 10/10

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karl
  • 17-11-2018

Cool hunting story!

Just completed this book and it was enjoyable and I completed the book in two days.

Like early Tom Clancy book this was full of action and has a good pace.

I will read his next book!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • The Dark Newt
  • 12-06-2018

Totally gripping emotional rollercoaster

Not perfect, but close enough that I loved this audiobook.

First, because I may not come back to this point, the narrator is excellent. In fact I came to this book because I was looking for new stuff narrated by this talented performer, having listened to Dennis E Taylor's work narrated by Ray Porter.

Having picked this up at the start of my holiday, I burned through this audiobook. I'm glad I did it while on holiday, otherwise it would have been a case of listening long into the night and then struggling to get up for work in the morning.

The story is gripping with a mix of plot twists I didn't see coming and some that I did, which I could pat myself on the back for. I finished seeing no loose ends that went untied, other than those that may lead to a welcome sequel. The mix of realpolitik, military intelligence and humanity was a very well balanced combination.

If you want to draw comparisons, I guess Jack Reacher is one possibly similar protagonist, but I felt this one was more nuanced and more human. Certainly, Carr brings us a protagonist that is more realistic (cynical?) about the means, methods and motives of the modern political-security state that has arisen in the 21st century west.

If I have one criticism, it's that after such an intricately woven plot, the endgame had a bit of a deus-ex-machina that could have been addressed and left me feeling ever so slightly cheated, even if the author implicitly recognised it with a shrug and a laugh. Nevertheless, every bad guy that got his (or hers) made me smile with righteous satisfaction.

As a first novel, this is a remarkable effort, and I just hope the author can dig deep enough to do it again.

Oh, and if you want to read a story where a political power-couple modelled on the Clintons get theirs in spectacular fashion, then this is your book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • anne
  • 11-03-2018

A full on thriller

Overall I found this an enjoyable listen. Full of technical detail and action. But there was a bit too much bias on how seals were the best and greatest and principled and unbeatable etc. Perhaps they are! I just don’t know it, because I’ve never met one. I’ll read another of Jack Carr’s book though, .