Try free for 30 days

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Soul Killer cover art

The Soul Killer

By: Ross Greenwood
Narrated by: David Thorpe
Try for $0.00

$16.45 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $25.99

Buy Now for $25.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

A murder made to look like suicide. Another that appears an accident.

DI Barton investigates the tragedies that have shattered a family’s lives, but without obvious leads the case goes nowhere. Then, when the remains of a body are found, everything points to one suspect.

Barton and his team move quickly, and once the killer is behind bars, they can all breathe a sigh of relief. But death still lurks in the shadows, and no one's soul is safe. Not even those of the detectives…

How do you stop a killer that believes life is a rehearsal for eternity, and their future is worth more than your own…?

Ross Greenwood writes gritty, heart-pounding thrillers, with twists aplenty, and unforgettable endings. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.

©2020 Ross Greenwood (P)2020 Boldwood Books

Critic Reviews

"Move over Rebus and Morse; a new entry has joined the list of great crime investigators in the form of Detective Inspector John Barton...." (Author Richard Burke)

What listeners say about The Soul Killer

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    182
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    181
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    164
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Excellent Book

David Thorpe is the perfect narrator for this book. Ross Greenwood,(author), adds in some ‘dry sense of humour’ to the story, which is great.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Takes a while to get used to the narrator but the story is chilling.

Have read others in this series and the narration is the same in each. However the story becomes all engrossing and you get over the narration. These stories are a mixture of the perpetrator’s thoughts and the detective’s perspective. You eventually discover a point where nothing can be undone and there are no winners…….. very chilling storylines from this author. A bonus when this was a free read too.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Agree with another reviewer, better than the first

A worthy sassaneach successor to Rebus!
Although Pêterborough does not have quite the same je ne sais quoi that Edinburgh has!
Interesting plot structure with convergence of the characters (no. 1 was convergence of past and present) as the identity of the villain is progressively revealed.
And as with the first, a bit of a bloodbath at the end.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Murder Novel with a difference

Hardly a murder mystery but a great story just the same, where you actually get to like the offender, or at least sympathise with him. Lots of dark humour and very well performed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Soul killer

I enjoyed this book, it took me a while to figure out who the killer was.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great books

The writing is really very good in these Barton books. The story in this one just pulls you along effortlessly. If you like this genre you will be delighted with this series. Full of twists and things coming out of left field. I like how we get into the mind of the killers especially.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Crazy great

Narrator is exceptional. Enjoyed the book but still have questions. Are the specials still in the coal bunker? Did Claudia get charged for what she did?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I ❤️ Ross Greenwood!

How this author ✍️ writes a lot of comedy into his otherwise grizzly crime stories, without it being inappropriate, continues to astound me. I would guess it’s cause his comedy only involves their private lives not the actual crimes.
I LOVE IT! It’s so well written.
Oh yeah! The narrator is rather excellent too.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Soul Killer

Great story line. Well written and easy to “read” style of the author. I’m really enjoying his books. His characters are well rounded and relateable.
Narration and editing is solid. Narrator is easy to listen to and voices and accents are quite good.
Looking forward to the next one in the series

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

DI Barton is really not that bright!

i enjoyed this story. it unfolds well and the tension and excitement keeps going til the end.
Only thing that bugged me was that unlike most major crimes teams, this one is a bit slow off the mark. A few characters comment on DI Barton's supposed great skills but there's scant evidence of these in the narrative. He's plodding, credulous, misses the obvious, dismisses a younger colleague's [well founded] suspicions, leaving him vulnerable, indulges naive colleagues making stupid jokes about a suspect rather than actually investigating -- and totally bodges the arrest. If i were DCI Cox i'd be seriously looking to sideline him--but for some reason she seems satisfied. Maybe that's Peterborough? Wouldn't happen in a Police Scotland novel!!! Nevertheless, it's a good entertaining story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.