Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $19.75

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Repent in this life, rejoice in the next....

A murder made to look like suicide. Another that appears an accident. DI Barton investigates the tragedies that have shattered a family’s lives, but without obvious leads, the case goes nowhere. Then, when the remains of a body are found, everything points to one suspect. 

Barton and his team move quickly, and once the killer is behind bars, they can all breathe a sigh of relief. But death still lurks in the shadows, and no one's soul is safe. Not even those of the Detectives....

How do you stop a killer that believes life is a rehearsal for eternity and their future is worth more than your own?

Ross Greenwood writes gritty, heart-pounding thrillers, with twists aplenty and unforgettable endings. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.

©2020 Ross Greenwood (P)2020 Boldwood Books

Critic Reviews

"Move over Rebus and Morse; a new entry has joined the list of great crime investigators in the form of Detective Inspector John Barton...." (Author Richard Burke)

What listeners say about The Soul Killer

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark
  • Mark
  • 03-06-2020

I struggled to chapter eleven but cold not

I could not get interested in this book, I struggled to chapter eleven but cold not go further, a different narrator may have helped.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wisconsinclark
  • wisconsinclark
  • 11-05-2020

Wonderful, Refreshing story line, I love it!!!

When I read the Snow Killer, I was not sure how knowing the killer in advance would make for a good mystery. It was one of the best mysteries I have read in a long time. The Soul Killer, same formula is equally as good. Again, I appreciate an author who respects his/her readers and does not regurgitate the previous novels. This could easily be a stand alone, but start with the Snow Killer if you can, you will be glad you did. I am looking forward to the next in this series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for booklvr
  • booklvr
  • 03-02-2021

Favorite series

LOVE this series. By the middle of the first book the characters feel like old friends and you are deeply invested in their lives. Take a chance and READ THIS SERIES!!! You won't be disappointed.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Kromrie
  • J. Kromrie
  • 03-02-2021

Meh, I preferred the 1st book of this series...

This 2nd installment just NEVER captured my imagination...Or my ice cold heart (kidding...kinda). Gave the 1st book 5 starts and 2.5 for this one is generous. too convoluted; unravel this labyrinth plot is not how I define enjoyment (which I seek at all times, whether studying or reading "off-the-clock". Might be time for a refund...

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shell Baker
  • Shell Baker
  • 20-05-2020

Brilliant

The Soul Killer is the second book in the DI Barton series after reading and loving The Snow Killer I couldn’t wait to see what the author had in store for us. And boy are you guys in for a treat. I didn’t think Ross could get any better but how wrong was I. He has totally nailed it. I cannot begin to tell you how much I love this book.

I actually listened to this on audio David Thorpe has done a brilliant job of narrating this. The story is told in alternate chapters from the POV of the killer…..(a killer we have no idea who it is) and DI Barton and his team. David as done a brilliant job of bringing the characters to life.

This is a truly addictive gripping audio that I couldn’t stop listening to. It is full of twists and turns with plenty of OMG moments. Ross Greenwood just got darker.

Towards the end I found myself laughing. I have to admit that I loved the dry humour. It’s all part of the plot……You need to read it for yourself to see what I mean.

This book certainly ticked all the boxes for me and I feel that the author has definitely found his writing style. DI Barton is a brilliant character I cannot wait to see what happens in the next book.

I cannot recommend this book enough it is flipping brilliant.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for san2har
  • san2har
  • 13-05-2020

Totally unbelievable

I enjoyed the first book in this series and the author has used a similar format which is that we follow the killer’s journey through multiple murders. What was amazing was the complete ineptitude of the police. They cannot be that clueless in reality. The only saving grace was the narrator who injected pace and excitement and encouraged me to (nearly) finish the book. It’s a pity really as the police characters are likeable (but not too clever)

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Particia Welsh
  • Particia Welsh
  • 15-05-2020

1 of my must reads

Brilliant story. lots of surprises. twists n red herrings. the end is shockingly great unexpected. Patricia Welsh

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sheila
  • sheila
  • 27-06-2020

amazing book

loved it loved it . I love these books by Ross Greenwood. The characters are brilliant .And its nice to see a detective whose a happy family man ,not one who lives in bottle
The book is very well read by David Thorpe
I will look forward to the next instalment

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for angela johns
  • angela johns
  • 27-12-2020

bonny b

Couldn't get past chapter nine. The narrator was terrible, the accent's were awful.
Really spoilt it for me. So unable to give a review on the storyline.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andromeda's Twin
  • Andromeda's Twin
  • 10-06-2020

Outstanding, again !

As with 'the Snow Killer' the narrative begins in the first person with the killer narrating their story which starts when they are just a small child, once the story switches to the present time it continues in the third person and revolves around DI Barton and his team, who are attending the funeral of Ginger who was killed in the first book. It switches back and forth just as effortlessly as in 'the Snow Killer' but is important to note, as many people have preferences over the POV in which a book is presented. I love this format, it's quite invigorating and makes a pleasant change from the average third person POV in which most crime thrillers seem to be presented (excluding phychological thrillers which seem to be almost exclusively first person).

The story has more twists and turns than a Welsh mountain road.

I found myself rooting for the killer as they may well be a psychopath but I felt so much empathy with them that I could not fail to care about what happened to them. So this book was enjoyed but with a touch of sadness too.

David Thorpe's narration was perfect again, he's the best narrator for these book without a doubt.

If you liked the first book, you'll love this one, if not, then go for it anyway, I think you'll enjoy it and then go buy the other one too.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul Loseby
  • Paul Loseby
  • 23-06-2020

Chronic - Gave up after chapter 8

I enjoyed the Snow Killer and was looking forward to listening to this book. It just didn't get going. I remember Chapter 8 but it drove me to sleep.

The author takes far too long in getting to the story and you lose interest (and the will to live). Also, the narrator who I think is one of the very best in the business, is trying an accent that he just doesn't master.

I'm afraid that after this, Ross Greenwood has come off my list of authors to read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 15-06-2020

Disapointed

Not as good as I hoped as a follow up to The Snow Killer, won't rush for the next installment

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 16-05-2020

Pulling teeth

Is endless; just goes on and on and on. Nothing to get your teeth in.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Preston
  • Preston
  • 05-05-2021

excellent all together

i have now listened to three of this authors books and eagerly await a fourth. story lines are strong with great characters. the reader is top class also. so, roll on the next Inspector Barton and co

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.