Try free for 2 months

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
The Silent Patient cover art

The Silent Patient

By: Alex Michaelides
Narrated by: Louise Brealey,Jack Hawkins
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Editorial reviews

The Silent Patient is a psychological thriller that will have you obsessed like the therapist trying to uncover the mute Alicia Brenson’s motive for murdering her husband.

The debut novel by former screenwriter Alex Michaelides, The Silent Patient has sold more than three million copies and earned a number one spot on the New York Times best seller list. Immediately adapted into an audiobook, this intriguing crime thriller features a plot twist that will shock you and leave you gasping.

Narrators Louise Brealy and Jack Hawkins lend their British-English voices to The Silent Patient in what listeners describe as 'superb', 'captivating' and 'easy to listen to both in clarity and pace'. Different characters are given a distinct voice, with spot-on accents.

Following the novel’s success, The Silent Patient is being adapted for the screen, with Brad Pitt listed as a producer. With a movie on the horizon, it’s time to download the audiobook and discover this gripping mystery’s secret for yourself.  

Publisher's Summary

With over three million copies sold, listen to the Sunday Times and number one New York Times bestselling, record-breaking thriller that everyone is talking about - soon to be a major film.

Alicia Berenson lived a seemingly perfect life until one day six years ago.

When she shot her husband in the head five times.

Since then she hasn't spoken a single word.

It's time to find out why.

The Silent Patient is the gripping must-listen debut thriller of 2020 - perfect for fans of The Woman in The Window by A.J. Finn and The Girl Before by JP Delaney.

©2019 Alex Michaelides (P)2019 Orion Publishing Group

Critic Reviews

"The perfect thriller." (A. J. Finn)

 "Terrific." (The Times, Crime Book of the Month)

"Smart, sophisticated suspense." (Lee Child)

What listeners say about The Silent Patient

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,410
  • 4 Stars
    1,033
  • 3 Stars
    335
  • 2 Stars
    82
  • 1 Stars
    41
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,492
  • 4 Stars
    745
  • 3 Stars
    197
  • 2 Stars
    44
  • 1 Stars
    14
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,122
  • 4 Stars
    907
  • 3 Stars
    322
  • 2 Stars
    92
  • 1 Stars
    46

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommend

I listen to loads of books. This is by far the best I’ve listened to this year. It just kept me wanting more and I was so sad to have it end. Beautifully written and the narrator was next level!!! Thank you! I love coming across these :)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

35 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Edge of seat plot, superbly read!

This story held my attention throughout. The twist was quite a revelation... I'm definitely making a second pass at this one to connect some of the dots missed the first time round!
The narration by Louise Brealey was, as always, impeccable!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh just SO good!

First of all, the one thing that can make or break an audio book is the narrator(s). And these two narrators just nailed it. Perfectly matched to their characters and so lovely to listen to.

The story kept my attention from beginning to end and I was right in the story with the characters the entire time.

I usually go for more light hearted audiobooks but I’m so glad I decided to try a different genre, this one is one of my all time favourite audio books.

Recommend to all my friends!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

Next level novel of psychological suspense. loved the narrator, overall one of the best audiobooks I've ever came across.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Once I started listening I couldn’t stop

If you are going to read one book this year - make it this one - The Silent Patient.
Really worth it - can’t fault it and narrators do a perfect job.I can’t wait for Alex’s next book (no pressure) 🤩

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent read

Didn’t take long to read and I concur with all other reviews that narration and story were tops. A tricky story to test your powers of logic and imagination..

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very good

loved the twist, never expected this to happen, loved the narrator, a great listen , reckomend it

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow! What a Great Book

So well written. The 2 narrators were excellent. easy to listen to. I often chose audios based on the narrators.

Highly recommend it

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Very Slow

An ok book. I found myself constantly thinking get to the pooooint!! Nice twist in the end though and great performance.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Deb
  • 23-08-2019

Great story

This story is well written and the performance by the reader is excellent. A real twist in the tale. Best book so far for me this year.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.