Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $34.76

Buy Now for $34.76

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Two ordinary sisters. A long and brutal war. A heroic sacrifice....

London, 1915. As German bombs rain down on the East End of London and hungry children queue for rations in the blistering cold, 15-year-old Florrie is forced to grow up fast. With her father fighting in the muddy trenches, Florrie turns to her older sister Edith for comfort. But the war has changed Edith. She has grown quiet, with dark shadows under her eyes, and has started leaving the house at night in secret. When Florrie follows her sister through the dark and winding streets of London, she is shocked by what she discovers. But she knows she must keep her sister’s secret for the sake of their family, even if she herself must pay the ultimate price....

Years later Kate, running from her broken relationship, is sorting through her dead aunt Florrie’s house, which she shared with her sister Edith. As she sits on the threadbare carpets, looking at photos of Florrie during the war, she notices the change in her aunt - from carefree young girl with a hopeful smile to a hollow-cheeked young woman, with dark, sad eyes. 

Determined to put her family’s ghosts to rest, Kate must unearth the secret past of her two aunts. Why is there a hidden locked room in the little house they shared? What is the story behind the abandoned wedding dress wrapped in tissue and tied up with a ribbon? And when Kate discovers the tragic secrets that have bound her family together, will she ever be able to move on? 

A heartbreaking historical novel of war, tragedy, and the sacrifices we make for those we love. Fans of Fiona Valpy, Kristin Hannah, and Victoria Hislop will be hooked by The Shut-Away Sisters.

©2021 Suzanne Goldring (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Shut-Away Sisters

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gail Heigl
  • Gail Heigl
  • 03-08-2021

Disappointed

Wordy and repetitive. Waste of my time This book truly disappointed me. It had potential and that is sad

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christineb
  • Christineb
  • 12-07-2021

An interesting story

The historical story interested me more Initially l felt such sympathy for Florrie but as the story progressed it was apparent how damaged Edith was and how tenderly the two sisters cared for each other Back then it was almost a sadness about young woman not marrying at least some things have changed for the better So overall a good story

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.