Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $19.75

Buy Now for $19.75

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

My name is Sylvie Duchene, and I am a dancer. There is no network. I am just a dancer. I know nothing. Please...I swear it....

An unknown location, occupied France, 1944. Dropping silently behind enemy lines, Sylvia Crichton, codename Monique, is determined to fight for the country of her birth and tear it from its Nazi stranglehold. As one of the dancers at the nightclub Mirabelle, Sylvie’s mission is to entertain the club’s German clientele and learn their secrets. 

In a world of deception and lies, she can trust no one. Not even Mirabelle’s mysterious piano player, Felix...a part of the resistance or a collaborator? But despite her SOE training, nothing can prepare Sylvie for the horrors she witnesses - or the pain of losing those she grows close to undercover....

This is a gripping romance set during WW2 in occupied France for fans of Dinah Jeffries, Kate Quinn and Pam Jenoff. 

©2020 Elisabeth Hobbes (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about The Secret Agent

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 22-02-2021

Good ww2 story

I could have done without the sexual situations and I fast forwarded several times and missed nothing . When the audio was actually about espionage and war and nazi it was great. I wish author had stayed on task and gotten rid of the fluff of sexual tension. I was not really interested in a romantic audio. I noticed that once you rate the book with the stars it cannot be revised. Narrator was excellent but I should have rated it with 3 stars . But kudos for no profanity

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for camille hobbs
  • camille hobbs
  • 16-08-2021

Sylvia was the worst spy ever

Was she a German sympathizer she was sickening
Everything made her sick
The cell she belonged to was silly
There was no adventure or sypyng
Dieter was as unrealistic. As Sylvia
To say she grew yo with a whorey mom and witnessed her mom’s lifestyle how did kissing dieter make her so sick
Everything made her sick
She made me sick!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bob L.
  • Bob L.
  • 04-06-2021

A Good Spy Story with Romance

This was a good book. It kept my attention the whole way through and was kind of a thriller/spy story as well as a romance. Some readers have objected to these sexual scenes, but I thought they were fine and worked in the book to me. I liked that it had more actual war situations as well as romance.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TimV
  • TimV
  • 25-05-2021

Good Allrounder

Believable plot, well read and realistic characters. One of few books I've seen through to the end recently.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 30-03-2021

Amazing

This might be my favourite story I’ve ever read. It’s impossible to stop listening once you start

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.