Get Your Free Audiobook

The Saturday Night Ghost Club

A Novel
Narrated by: Corey Brill
Length: 5 hrs and 41 mins
3.0 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

Non-member price: $34.13

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A irresistible and bittersweet coming-of-age story in the vein of Stranger Things and Stand by Me about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends

"A celebration of the secret lives of children, both their wonders and their horrors . . . Immensely enjoyable, piercingly clever, and satisfyingly soulful." (Jason Heller, NPR) 

Growing up in 1980s Niagara Falls - a seedy but magical, slightly haunted place - Jake Baker spends most of his time with his uncle Calvin, a kind but eccentric enthusiast of occult artifacts and conspiracy theories. The summer Jake turns 12, he befriends a pair of siblings new to town, and so Calvin decides to initiate them all into the "Saturday Night Ghost Club." But as the summer goes on, what begins as a seemingly light-hearted project may ultimately uncover more than any of its members had imagined. 

With the alternating warmth and sadness of the best coming-of-age stories, The Saturday Night Ghost Club is a note-perfect novel that poignantly examines the haunting mutability of memory and storytelling, as well as the experiences that form the people we become, and establishes Craig Davidson as a remarkable literary talent.

©2019 Craig Davidson (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Davidson makes beautifully clear how the ghoulish tales we feared when we were young can't compare to the blood-bathed teeth we eventually encounter as adults. The Saturday Night Ghost Club is a tale for those who like their Stranger Things spiked, Stand by Me charred, and who are battered enough yet still brave enough to revisit that moment when made-up horrors finally come to root in a world beyond invention. A novel that both stabs and breaks your heart." (Mark Z. Danielewski, best-selling author of House of Leaves)

"The Saturday Night Ghost Club is not only creepy and chills-down-your-spine fun, it's also incredibly poignant and heartwarming. This is a tender coming-of-age story that isn't afraid to face the darkness in the world or meditate on the power of memory and the mysteries of the human brain. Craig Davidson is such a nimble storyteller and his latest novel is proof of his remarkable gift." (Edan Lepucki, New York Times best-selling author of California and Woman No. 17)

"A moving, delightful, thrillingly unexpected coming-of-age story about the irresistible collision of childhood's dark wonders and adulthood's haunting mysteries." (Elan Mastai, author of All Our Wrong Todays)

More from the same

What listeners say about The Saturday Night Ghost Club

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John C
  • John C
  • 01-06-2020

Not about the paranormal.

Davidson has a great gift with words. I only wish more traditional ghosts would have appeared in the book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Crystal  Sanchez
  • Crystal Sanchez
  • 18-10-2019

Why do so many people like this?!

I read this book because it was on the list for my book group and the rating was so high. I don't know why. I thought it was pointless. I am not sure if it's because the audio reminded me of the voice of the rat from Charlotte's Web the cartoon. I wanted to quit it so many times, that even though it was only five hours long, it took me days to finish it. The only character I thought was kinda interesting was Dove and that was towards the last chapter. The ending was lame. I guess some will say it has some deep meaning but I was just not impressed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 18-10-2020

Emotionless

The story is intriguing but the narration is less than enjoyable. I hated it very much. Felt like a robot was reading :/

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-06-2020

Good book

Fun and sad and lovely. I enjoyed this book and would recommend it for anyone

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gillian Francoeur
  • Gillian Francoeur
  • 24-09-2019

everything and more

loved it, read In a day! the narrator honestly made the book for me. I will read again shortly! perfect for spooky season

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alexander Graham
  • Alexander Graham
  • 31-08-2019

Charming, subdued

This turned out to be a pleasent story with some mild intensity and a bit of a sad twist. Not especially scary if you're looking for that sort of thing, but more of a coming-of-age book with some beautiful language peppered throughout. I'd say it's worth spending a credit, regardless of how short it really is.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vincent
  • Vincent
  • 22-07-2019

great story and performance!

Corey Brill never ceases to amaze me with his performances. Craig Davidson aka Nick Cutter is brilliant in this space and genre, I would recommend this duo very highly!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jamie
  • Jamie
  • 19-09-2019

Wow. Just wow.

This was not at all what I expected. It’s far better than I could have imagined it would be. I don’t want to give too much away but this is my best read of the year so far. Anyone who likes ghost stories, coming of age, maybe a bit of thriller, should read this pretty quickly! Aside from that I do think it would actually appeal to most people who enjoy a good read!

1 person found this helpful