Get Your Free Audiobook

The Proposal

Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Length: 10 hrs and 36 mins
3.3 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

Non-member price: $34.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

You invited him into your life. And now you can never go back....

Pippa wants a second chance. Recently divorced and unhappy at work, she uproots her life to move to a beautiful farmhouse in the countryside, determined to make a fresh start. But Pippa soon realizes that troubles are never far behind. One night, when Pippa is at home alone, a stranger arrives at her front door. Pippa invites him in and, in a moment of madness, makes him an offer she believes could change everything.... 

Ryan is funny, charming, and haunted by his past. There, in the kitchen, over a glass of wine, Pippa thinks Ryan might be the answer to all of her problems. But how well does she really know him? Pippa can tell truth from lies. And she’d know if she were in danger. Wouldn’t she?

From Amazon best seller S. E. Lynes, The Proposal is a pause-resisting and utterly gripping thriller about the lengths we will go to for someone we love. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Woman at the Window, and The Wife Between Us.

©2018 S. E. Lynes (P)2018 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Proposal

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

BORING!!!!!

I tried to 3 times to listen to this story but it is just too boring that my mind kept wandering off. I returned it and got My credit back.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kelly
  • Kelly
  • 23-09-2018

Brilliant...

Powerful,moving...funny and refreshing. All adjectives apropos for this book. I read a lot. So many are similar , but this was unexpected . Written in first person it’s the story told by Pippa an author in a dry spell deadline looming. Finding her muse in a door to door salesman, she makes a decision she can never go back on. You won’t regret your credit spent.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joyce Lareau
  • Joyce Lareau
  • 27-09-2018

lots of fast forwarding through the middle

This book is fine at the beginning up to the point where the stranger leaves her home. That is, if, you would believe someone would invite a stranger off the street into their home and treat them like they have been friends for years. Then I found myself fast forwarding through the most drawn out scenes imaginable through the middle of the book. It doesn't get good again until almost the end. Then the ending is bizarre to say the least. Could have done without this book. Would never recommend it to anyone who likes psychological thrillers. Save your credit.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for barbara robinson
  • barbara robinson
  • 03-11-2018

Exhausting

This book is exhausting. No one can be as stupid and unaware as the main character in this book.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rosemary
  • Rosemary
  • 27-09-2018

Propostrous

This is hands down one of the worst books ever. The story is absurd and the main character is laughable and unbelievable.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CB
  • CB
  • 26-09-2018

Good but a little creepy

This started out a little boring in my opinion and it took me awhile to get into it. Eventually though I could not stop listening, I had to know what was going to happen next! A very suspenseful and rather creepy thriller. I also liked the way they did the narrative layout, made it even more suspenseful. A good listen!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ronda
  • Ronda
  • 04-11-2018

Drags at the beginning but gets good at the end

I struggled to stay with the story up until around chapter 26. I did not like the main characters, they were selfish and whiney. Around chapter 26 the story picks up and things become clearer. It's a bit predictable and dysfunctional.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Katherine Peterson
  • Katherine Peterson
  • 18-10-2018

unique approach to storytelling

I have read and loved several psychological thrillers and this is the most unique approach to the story. I am giving this high rating not so much for the story itself, but because of how it was delivered to the reader.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Philip E Bailey
  • Philip E Bailey
  • 04-10-2018

Great Openning

The book started very well with a quirky heroine but took soon odd and disturbing turns in end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shenise Ramdeen
  • Shenise Ramdeen
  • 03-10-2018

What did I just read?

This book was all over the place. I had to stop halfway through and return it. Complete waste of time. Definitely would not recommend.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-10-2018

A Thriller

I very rarely give a book a written review but i so enjoyed this book I felt obligated. It is a riveting book. And while no literary genius it is a fun book to get lost in.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynn Burfoot
  • Lynn Burfoot
  • 03-12-2018

Boring and very long winded!

I am suprised the narrator didn't fall asleep.This bool was boring and sadly very predictable.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for irishchyna
  • irishchyna
  • 27-09-2018

Don’t bother!

Honestly... don’t bother with this book. I tried so so hard to give it a chance... but I got to where there was an hour left and just gave up. It’s so tedious... the storyline is awful and so drawn out, not to mention predictable... save your money (and the hours of your life you’ll never get back)

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michelle Campion
  • Michelle Campion
  • 04-09-2019

twist and turns

gripping story, keeps you guessing right till the end id recommend it narrator excellent also

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rocitt
  • Rocitt
  • 15-08-2019

Fab!

Great book, couldn't stop listening to it!! Would recommend this book to my friends. Fab!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mandy
  • Mandy
  • 11-01-2019

Gripping

I do not usually read these types of books, but this had me gripped from the beginning & didn’t want to listening. Although I more or less expected how it would end, I still could not stop, neither when I wanted to shout at Pippa for being so silly. Really enjoyed this

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10-01-2019

true love ?

an intriguing twist on the meaning of True Love, or infatuation? very well written and narrated bringing the tension & drama to life. I am looking forward to reading her next book 'Mother'

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah Martin
  • Sarah Martin
  • 12-12-2018

Twists and turns !

Great book and loved the last twist. Recommended! An excellent thriller that’s keeps you guessing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss
  • Miss
  • 26-11-2018

AMAZING!

I loved the story & the narration. I couldn’t predict the ending and I was gripped the whole way through!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Martyn J Pass
  • Martyn J Pass
  • 08-11-2018

Creepy in all the right ways

Loved it. Not my usual read (listen in this case) but one started I found it very hard to put down. Great story, great performance.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa
  • Lisa
  • 28-10-2018

Good read with a great ending

I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would. I Was very relieved it had a great ending.

1 person found this helpful