Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $22.95

Buy Now for $22.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

From best-selling Australian author Lynette Noni comes a dark, thrilling YA fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Sabaa Tahir. 

Here at Zalindov, the only person you can trust is yourself.

Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last 10 years fighting for survival in the notorious death prison Zalindov, working as the prison healer. 

When the Rebel Queen is captured, Kiva is charged with keeping the terminally ill woman alive long enough for her to undergo the Trial by Ordeal: a series of elemental challenges against the torments of air, fire, water and earth, assigned to only the most dangerous of criminals. 

Then a coded message from Kiva's family arrives, containing a single order: Don't let her die. We are coming. Aware that the Trials will kill the sickly queen, Kiva risks her own life to volunteer in her place. If she succeeds, both she and the queen will be granted their freedom. 

But no one has ever survived. 

With an incurable plague sweeping Zalindov, a mysterious new inmate fighting for Kiva's heart and a prison rebellion brewing, Kiva can't escape the terrible feeling that her trials have only just begun. 

©2021 Lynette Noni (P)2021 Penguin Random House Australia

Critic Reviews

"Lynette Noni is a masterful storyteller. A must-read for any fantasy lover!" (Sarah J. Maas, number one New York Times best-selling author)

What listeners say about The Prison Healer

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Soooo Good!

Fantastic book!
Love the plot twists and the unpredictable ending. Looking forward to the next book!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story.

The story is well written and narrated. Highly recommended if you enjoy Sarah J Maas books.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

another great read from Lynette

struggled to get into it but by the end, I didn't want it to end

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a book

Such a great book, I had to go back and listen to the last part because I thought I miss heard.

Characters were likeable, plot was good and the pace was also good. Not too fast, not too slow. Very predictable in some parts but.....the ending.....omg the twist. Yssssssss bring on book 2.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

THIS BOOK CHANGED MY LIFE ❤❤❤

THIS IS THE BEST BOOK IVE EVER LISTENED TOO THE STORY WAS FALWLESS AND SO WAS THE NARRATOR THERE WAS EVERYTHKNG I COULD EVER WANT IN A BOOK I HAVE LISTENED TO IT AT LEAST 7 TIME IN A ROW AND THEN THE ENDING IT KILLED ME OHH IT WAS SO GOOD. THIS BOOK HAD ME FROM THE FIRST SENTENCE. THEN I LISTEND TO THE SECONDED BOOK WHICH WAS EVEN BETTER I THOUGHT THIS WAS THE BEST THI G AND THEN I LISTEND TO THE SECUAL THIS BOOK HAS CHANGED MY LIFE I LOVE IT SO MUCH AND I CANT WAIT FOR THE 3 ONE TO COME OUT I AM SOO EXCITED ITS GONNA BE SO GOOD ❤ AND I HOPE THERE ARE MANY MORE BOOKS AFTER THAT ONE JUST TO REPET THIS BOOK CHANGED MY LIFE PLEASE LISTEN TO IT PLEASE GET IT IT WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed this one!

Very good story. I enjoyed the whisper series and I love this one too! Good work Lynette.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

absolutely loved it!!

absolutely loved this story, lynette noni is a great author/story teller. her books flow at a great pace, her characters are either lovable or easy to hate. I'll definitely be reading or listening to more of her books.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good but

While I enjoy the story, there was a lot of repetition of general knowledge. Lots interest due to this.
Will pursue second story... Hoping for better editing.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

This is YA

I didn’t realise this book was YA …. Until I started listening. While I enjoyed Nonis style of writing it needed a much better edit …. And clearly it wasn’t aimed at me. Audible needs to do a better job marking the styles of writing.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-04-2021

Absolutely worth a listen

This story kept me intrigued all the way through. Narrator did a brilliant job and I can’t wait for the sequel.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.