Get Your Free Audiobook

The Paths Between Worlds

Narrated by: Kate Reading
Series: This Alien Earth, Book 1
Length: 11 hrs and 29 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (22 ratings)

Non-member price: $34.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Welcome children of Earth, do not be afraid.

After a devastating car crash leaves her addicted to pain pills and her best friend dead, Meredith Gale has finally been pushed beyond her breaking point. Now, ending her life seems like the only way out, and that choice has left her dangling by her fingertips from a bridge high above the freezing water of the San Francisco Bay. But someone, or something, has other plans for Meredith. As her fingers slip from the cold steel of the bridge, a disembodied voice asks her a simple question: “Candidate 13: Do you wish to be saved?” 

Realizing her mistake too late, Meredith screams “Yes!” and instantly finds herself transported to a mysterious island, alongside hundreds of other Candidates like her, each pulled from human history with seemingly little in common. But when Meredith stumbles across a cryptic message meant only for her, she uncovers an even bigger mystery - a mystery that places the fate of humanity’s future firmly in her hands.

With the help of her new companions, Meredith sets out on an impossible journey to find the one person who can solve the riddle of why they were brought to this strange, alien Earth...assuming they can survive the dangers that lurk within this new world and the dark forces massing against them.

Check out the first audiobook in the This Alien Earth Series, a futuristic adventure perfect for fans of Jeremy Robinson, Stephen King, and Lost.

©2019 Aethon Books (P)2019 Audible, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"A stunning sci-fi gem. The Path Between Worlds delivers a mind bending, exquisitely crafted start to a saga unlike anything you've read before." (Steven Konkoly, USA Today best-selling author of the Perseid Collapse series)

"Fresh, original and highly imaginative. I loved it." (RR Haywood, Washington Post best-selling author of Extracted)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

awsome

loved it,once the narrator gets into the flow of the story ,wow, .please hurry up and release thr rest of the series. awsome

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Story is ok, narration below avarage

The story dragged out a bit towards the end. I disliked the narrators performance, but the story was intriguing enough for me to want to listen till the end.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Wexler
  • J. Wexler
  • 15-04-2019

This book is a rewrite of the classic Riverworld

After the first hour, I thought the general premise was oddly familiar. Basically, it is Philip Jose Farmer's Riverworld, with new names and minor changes.

Another reviewer noted this online, calling it Riverworld for the new generation.

The performance was quite good, but the fact that it was so closely scripted like Riverworld, that it stuck in my throat. I have returned the book uncompleted.

Humans transplanted to another world by aliens, they interact with other humans in a struggle between good and evil, with the inclusion of various historical characters. In Riverworld the good guy was Mark Twain, here Wild Bill Hickock.

I am sorry to rank on this book. I was waiting for the bad guys to appear, assembled around some historical Baddie, and lo and behold, the SS shows up. I could not go any further.



6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jean Genie
  • Jean Genie
  • 21-03-2019

Wow, this book is a lot of fun to listen to!

Normally, I listen to audiobooks with one ear (usually as more of a distraction as I work). But this book tore my attention away from my PC and held it firm.

I wasn’t too sure about the narrators voice as Meredith as I listened to the first 5 minutes of the book. Their tone felt a little too droll. But as I kept listening (and the Meredith character became fleshed out), I actually now think the tone fits her personality perfectly.

I have only listened to the first 3.5 hours so far (all in one sitting) of this mega-eleven plus hours long book. But I just had to leave a review right away!

If you want to read a sci-fi book that takes you down a crazy rabbit hole of twists and turns, Get This Book!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kolif
  • Kolif
  • 24-04-2019

Lord-of-ring-esque time travel sci-fi story

I feel the author is particularly good at writing certain scenarios and less than great while describing others. Slow and somewhat unconvincing start but the story picks up significantly from chapter 4. This is like Man In High Castle meets Lord of the Rings.

The narrator sounds like she is in her 50s. The protagonist is in her 20s. I feel someone with similar age would portray more convincily her character.

I will pick up second book when it comes out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JJC
  • JJC
  • 15-04-2019

Interesting if a little frustrating

I appreciate the commercial drivers behind an author wishing to create a series that readers/listeners buy into for multiple titles but this title ended in such an abrupt manner that I found myself checking to see if I'd failed to download the last part, which I appreciate is silly as things don't work like that. For me, it took a challengingly long time for this story to get going, but I persisted, and then the pace accelerated and it became more interesting, and then it suddenly stopped. I found the first few chapters a bit of a grind through the very long struggle to survive, before some more interesting elements started to be added to improve matters. This is Sci-Fi, so we're not necessarily looking for plot logic but some of the character introductions and stereotypes and aspects such as, for example, the translational voodoo and the quick availability of, shall we say, water-borne transport, push plot credibility/acceptance to the limit, but that's sort of OK in this context. So will I buy into part 2 when it appears? Maybe, but the test will be whether the story has stuck in my mind when I come to consider the new download in a few months or whenever it becomes available.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Smith
  • Smith
  • 31-03-2019

An average listen ..

I couldn't seem to visualise the characters as the descriptions were somewhat lacking. One dimensional characters in my opinion. Story started good but didn't reach a satisfactory conclusion. I hope the second book offers far more descriptive characterisation and maybe a plot twist and reaches some important high points along the way The premise of this book is good however it underwhelmed me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tony Bough
  • Tony Bough
  • 24-03-2019

Incredibly fast-paced & filled with suspense

I’m incredibly impressed with how the plot of this book is developed. Excellent writing, with very good descriptions of the setting/world, really clever dialog, and observations about humanity that remind me of the wit of the really great authors and entertainers.

I love books that make me reflect on morality/ethics and this does that.

I also found the characters engaging and well developed. The pace is great and maintains throughout the book. I loved the idea on reading the synopsis of the book which is that different people from different times in history are thrown together. That’s a cool idea and makes for a great story!

It evoked excitement and sadness in me and I think that in itself shows it was a great book.

It wraps up nicely in that I didn’t feel that I had to wait for the next book but it also made we want to read the story in what I hope to see as the next book. Which is also important to me as I hate it when books only seem to set themselves up for the next without giving me an ending.

I enjoyed it from start to finish.

The narration is great for the style of the book and the characters are brought to life by the narrator.

This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for angela mcconnell
  • angela mcconnell
  • 03-11-2019

Don’t bother

No real plot, no storyline and unfinished. A pointless listen. Waste of a credit. Disappointed

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for deafmick
  • deafmick
  • 13-09-2019

My first book by Paul antony Jones and Kate reading 5 out of 5 100%

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bluesky
  • Bluesky
  • 29-07-2019

Great first part of trilogy

I only sort of liked it for the first quarter as I am not overly fond of lots of description. However, it was really necessary and it did make the rest better. Once the story got going I loved it and started to care what happens to the characters. I really like the concept of the story and look forward to the next book - this was a taster and introduction...

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dave M
  • Dave M
  • 18-07-2019

juvenile writing

juvenile writing - cut and paiste sections from google - implausible plot. narration not bad but that's all that this book has going for it (apart from when the narrator forgets what character shes in and voices the wrong person)