Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $25.82

Buy Now for $25.82

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

She takes the same train every day. But this is a journey she’ll never forget. The Passenger is a stunning psychological thriller with a nerve-shredding climax. Perfect for fans of Mark Edwards, K.L. Slater and Miranda Rijks. 

Amanda is a hardworking single mum, completely focused on her job and her daughter, Louise. She’s been saving for years, and now, finally, she can afford to give up work and chase her dream. But then, on her commute home from London to Brighton, she meets a charming stranger - who seems to know everything about her. He delivers an ultimatum. She needs to give him the code for the safe where she keeps her savings before the train reaches Brighton - or she’ll never see Louise again. Convinced that the threat is real, Amanda is stunned, horrified. She knows she should give him the code, but she can’t. Because she also knows there is a terrible secret in that safe which will destroy her life and Louise’s, too.... 

©2021 Daniel Hurst (P)2021 W F Howes

Critic Reviews

“Hurst draws the reader into his characters’ world and turns our expectations on their heads as we try and navigate through this unusual and cleverly drawn plot." (On the Shelf Books)

What listeners say about The Passenger

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 24-08-2021

Ehhhhh

This was decent but disclosed pieces of the story way to early so it was very limited suspense

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark D
  • Mark D
  • 14-08-2021

Had Potential

So I was looking forward to this for awhile. It was different than a lot of the junk being put out there.
Then I listened to it.

So I'm supposed to believe that 2 guys get out jail, ok. Then one happens to swipe right on this girl and finds out her mom has 20,000 pounds in a safe at home. Very convenient that one was a conman and the other a thug. And of course both guys are the most attractive men ever.

It gets crazier as it goes on, but don't want give anything away. It seemed like a lot of work and risk for only 10,000 each. Especially when they just got out of jail.

It's not bad book, definitely not based on reality. I couldn't stand that spoiled daughter who wouldn't work or go to school. Just expected her mother to give her money to travel around.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.