Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $27.79

Buy Now for $27.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

You made a promise to your sister. It could destroy your daughter.

The daughter

Fifteen-year-old Rosie lies in hospital fighting for her life. She’s trying to tell her mother what happened to her, but she can’t speak the words out loud.

The mother

Toni is a doting and over-protective mother, terrified for her daughter’s life. Having lost her husband in a tragic accident, Toni has dedicated her life to keeping Rosie safe from harm. She needs to know what secrets Rosie has been keeping and how she ended up in a hospital bed - but Toni has a secret of her own....

The pact

Thirty years ago, Toni and her sister, Bridget, made each other a promise: never to speak of their childhood; to protect each other without asking for help from others, no matter what....

But in order to save Rosie, Toni may have to break her lifelong promise to her sister...and open doors to her past she hoped would remain closed forever.

The Pact is a chilling psychological thriller about the lies we will tell to save our children. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Apple Tree Yard, and The Sister.

©2018 S. E. Lynes (P)2018 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Pact

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christa
  • Christa
  • 30-06-2019

Decent story, good narrator, but kind of annoying characters...

The story wasn’t too bad, although fairly predictable. The sister’s part was told in third person, while all the other characters were first person. The characters were realistic enough, I suppose, but I found the mother and daughter to be annoying at times. The mother’s overprotective hysteria was often overbearing, while the daughter’s teenaged use of language (i.e., constantly saying “obvs” for obviously, and literally using the word “literally” about a thousand times) was a bit grating on the nerves. However, while this may have stopped me from listening to other books, the plot was interesting enough to hold my attention. The bad guy is definitely believable, especially if you happen to watch “Web of Lies” on ID.

98 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Megan Brown
  • Megan Brown
  • 21-06-2018

Not very interesting.

I had to start this over at least 3 times before I forced myself to finish it. Very hard to engage in the story or characters. Too much back and forth between characters.

52 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Candice
  • Candice
  • 25-03-2018

I don’t speak teenager

I think Tamsin Kennard is a really good narrator, but I couldn’t get past the teenage inflections, millennial-isms and otherwise maybe too authentic voice of Rosie. The plot seemed to go nowhere fast. I needed more to happen sooner. I couldn’t connect with the characters. This book was only so-so for me. I wouldn’t choose it again.

75 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for denise davis
  • denise davis
  • 22-04-2018

keep you on the edge of your seat.

it's a little slow to start but when it finally grabs u, you don't want to stop. awesome story about sisters and a daughter who take care of each other and what they all have gone thru and what they still face. the narration by Tamsin Kennard is very good. I definitely enjoyed this story.

33 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mystical Lady
  • Mystical Lady
  • 04-05-2018

A "WOW" story!

A story of family bonds, secrets and loyalty. Gripping, edge of the seat thriller. If you like psychological thrillers, look no further. Great writing, great audio, great story. The ending was awesome. Don't want to give anything away. Definitely worth the money. 😀😀😀

35 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for VERB
  • VERB
  • 12-10-2018

absolutely preposterous

I don't even know where to start. This is ridiculous. Meandering changing plot..... And not in an interesting way. this is an example of something that would probably never happen in real life.

51 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 03-04-2018

Great story...wrong title

Four lines into this story, my thought was "oh, this is going to be gooooood!" and I was not disappointed! I'm still a little confused by thr title though. I don't think "the pact" played a big enough role in the story to be the title that defined the whole thing. But good story all the same!

38 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela M. Dokos
  • Angela M. Dokos
  • 28-09-2018

Awesome book.

Great story. Great characters. Love the plot and how it all plays out. Wonderfully written.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wayne
  • Wayne
  • 05-08-2019

Okay

Getting into THE PACT took some effort. I stuck with it and now rate it worthwhile. The narration is quite good.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bookaholic
  • Bookaholic
  • 30-07-2018

The Pact

Slow moving at first, but a good thriller with twisting end.

I enjoyed it, and would recommend it.

14 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa Timoney
  • Lisa Timoney
  • 15-04-2018

Powerful and compelling

As a mother of a teenage girl, this story struck a terrifying chord with me. S E Lynes creates such believable characters in Rosey, Toni and Bridget, I lived their story with them. The Pact has a truly compelling, complex plot with shocking twists, which meant I could barely force myself to stop listening. This is a fantastic book. Highly recommended!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynette
  • Lynette
  • 28-03-2018

Extremely Irritating!

I got about a third of the way through and just couldn't listen to any more! It sounds as though it has been written by a teenager, for a teenager. Predominantly using teenage language such as "deffo" . little actual action, just listening to a spoiled brat complaining that her mother doesn't let her do anything with her friends. Boring.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. L. Russell
  • M. L. Russell
  • 10-11-2018

So glad I stuck with it!

I attempted to start listening to this book on a couple of occasions & found that several chapters in I couldn't get into it at all. But stuck with it through a particularly long car journey & by the time I was a couple of hours in I was hooked & it was a great listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kayleigh turton
  • Kayleigh turton
  • 22-03-2018

Yawn making and utterly predictable!

Predictable! Totally overdone! Theme flogged to death! Awful over all! A total waste of time!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elizabeth Ainsworth
  • Elizabeth Ainsworth
  • 19-09-2021

An enjoyable listen but…

Great story, if not a little predictable but worth a listen. The only thing I didn’t like was the whole “mummy” thing. It got irritating and sounded wrong for a teenager who was starting to rebel. That’s just my opinion though. A good story and good narration.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marie
  • Marie
  • 04-06-2021

Took a while to get going

Ok read but nothing spectacular. Not her best book. It starts very slow and is predictable in places.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for johanne hitchen
  • johanne hitchen
  • 03-04-2021

only 1 star available on the review. ???

excellently written, with clever reveals and we'll read.
something wrong with performance stars. needs fixing

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SamanthaK
  • SamanthaK
  • 17-05-2020

A riveting story.

Great story. A good few twists and good characters. Great plotline and the characters are built in a very clever woven way.. .. the narration makes for a racy (not in that way!) tale.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss F Collantine
  • Miss F Collantine
  • 14-03-2020

Utter rubbish

Very irritating characters and voices, a boring story overall - 9 hours I won't get back.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ellie S
  • Ellie S
  • 30-09-2018

Another absolute cracker by Susie Lynes.

Loved it, gripping and keeps you guessing right to the end. Brilliantly put together 5*****

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.