Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $20.28

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects and Alice Sebold's The Lovely Bones, Number One best-selling author Jodi Picoult returns with the deeply moving The Pact.

When Chris wakes up in hospital, Emily is the first person he asks for. She is the love of his life. But Emily is dead, and Chris is the sole witness to what happened in the park that night.

He claims it was a suicide pact: they were both meant to die.

Then the investigation turns up motive for murder, and there is only one suspect....

©1999 Jodi Picoult (P)2006 Hodder and Stoughton Audiobooks

Critic Reviews

"The novelist displays an almost uncanny ability to enter the skins of her troubled young protagonists." ( New York Times)

What listeners say about The Pact

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Worthwhile

Not a bad story, and well narrated. I was a little disappointed that this was an abridged version and I didn't realise till after I purchased it. I feel like I have missed out on all of the intricacies of the story

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Awful, dramatic narrator ruined it

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

Book was interesting - narrator - big no. Sounded like a low budget school play.

How could the performance have been better?

Less dramatic and differentiating character voices.

Do you think The Pact needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

No

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

sick t*ts

Was gr8 m8. loved the court room part of the novel. the voice actor could tend to be monotonous at times with their tone, but it was good that they changed their voice a little for different characters and maintained a constant voice signature for a particular character

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Liz
  • 02-02-2016

excellent and thought provoking!

would have loved some of my questions to be answered in the end, but also realise that is not her style to answer every question.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mell
  • Mell
  • 20-05-2020

NOTE: THIS IS AN ABRIDGED VERSION

I like to listen to the book I am reading sometimes and pick up the novel where I stopped listening. I read the description of this and I must have missed the bit where it says it is abridged. Which it is - heavily! I started to wonder why Picoult’s usual character depth was missing and then I realised it was because massive chunks of the novel were missing g. If you want an easy listen this is good but it isn’t the full version by a long chalk!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for katiesue
  • katiesue
  • 13-02-2018

Great story, just way too short.

Loved the story, just didn't get the character connection typically of picoult as too short.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Purpleufie
  • Purpleufie
  • 05-10-2017

Good but not Jodi's usual standard

The story is lacking compared to most of her books. The narration as always is excellent. after listening to the story all of Jodi's books are added to my sleep list as the narration voice is great for drifting off to sleep too. Still my fave author for audio books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kimmie
  • kimmie
  • 24-12-2016

Wow what a story....LOVED IT

Best ever story I have read by Jodie, it had me gripped I couldn't put it down, you so wanted it to be true. I hope I get a chance to read a storyline like this....so moving keeping you on your toes...GREAT STORY ❤❤❤❤❤

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Txm_c
  • Txm_c
  • 29-06-2015

The Pact review

A compelling listen! So easy I the ear - really enjoyed it! Looking forward to Jodi's next novel!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen
  • Karen
  • 18-08-2014

Boring - Boring - Boring!!!!

Would you try another book written by Jodi Picoult or narrated by Megan Dodds?

I have always enjoyed Jodi Picoult books, but this is just dull, very little story line and the one that is there is just not believable. Megan Dodds narration only seems to make it even more boring. Give it a miss and Jodi you need a wakeup call!!!!

Has The Pact put you off other books in this genre?

No as I have read and enjoyed Jodi's books before.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

She made a very uninteresting story line even more boring.

You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

NO

Any additional comments?

I had the feeling that Jodi was writing for the sake of writing, It didn't feel like her heart was in this one. I have over 500 books from Audible and this one is on my top 5 most forgettable and wish I hadn't wasted my time list.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachel Scott
  • Rachel Scott
  • 05-04-2014

I cried listening to the book!

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

Yes this book was good but I felt it finished to quickly

What other book might you compare The Pact to, and why?

this book could be compared to any Jodi Picoult book

Was The Pact worth the listening time?

Yes definately - but it seemed to finish all of a sudden without a proper ending

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dawn
  • Dawn
  • 21-07-2011

Powerful

Another compelling story from Jodi Picoult. She writes these powerful courtroom dramas so well I find it hard to switch them off. It's a shame that this version is abridged.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.