Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $19.75

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The Other Woman by debut author Sandie Jones is a gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Michelle Frances' The Girlfriend and B A Paris' Behind Closed Doors

There's nothing that this mother wouldn't do for her son.... 

Emily thinks Adam's perfect: the man she always hoped but never thought she'd meet. 

But lurking in the shadows is a rival, a woman who shares a deep bond with the man she loves. A mother whose love for her son knows no bounds. 

Exclusive to the audiobook, The Other Woman includes a unique interview with the author, Sandie Jones, and reader Clare Corbett.

©2018 Sandie Jones (P)2018 Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd

What listeners say about The Other Woman

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story

That storyline was great, toe curling and honestly made me even more thankful for my mother in law. The end was extremely rushed and ridiculous. Its sad because it deserved so much more than that. Its the authors debut novel so I forgive her rush. I hope she rewrites the end to something better.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Twists and turns.

Wow! Loved listening to this book, great story and characters really came to life via the wonderful narration.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I really loved this book and finished it so quickly. I loved the characters and felt like I knew them. I also loved the narrator!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good read

Quite enjoyed this book but kept waiting for to her to take quiet revenge. The ending a surprise but could have been better.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Great narrator!

Enjoyed the narrator & how she brought the characters to life. I did not enjoy the story. The plot twist wasn’t great & I felt it was hard work to get to unsatisfying ending.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A bit rushed toward the end

The book dragged in parts and then finished quite suddenly. Not a bad book, just not my favourite.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Omg... Another brilliant hello sunshine book.

I thought the book was a liitle slow to start but boy I wasn't expecting that ending. So glad I didn't give up after the first 2 chapters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pick your mother in-law wisely! Or your husband...

This was an awesome read. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The lengths people go to to protect the ones you love is undeniably powerful in this one. I definitely recommend this book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I thought it would be less predictable

Given all the amazing ratings I thought it would be a thrilling unbelievably twisty story. But I found the “twists” predictable and obvious and some of the reasons for a character to stay silent about explosive information to be a little preposterous.

The only redeeming factor of this book was the excellent narration. The ending fell a little flat and was a little ridiculous.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dee Cunningham
  • Dee Cunningham
  • 13-07-2020

Gripping!

I was riveted from start to finish and couldn’t stop listening! Narrator was excellent and had me captive!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 19-05-2020

Saw the twist coming from a mile away!

This book was so frustrating and predictable. The main character kept on proclaiming she loved her Fiancée, despite the fact he treated her terribly and his mother did the same. JUST LEAVE. The twist was so obvious, but I was hoping the main character might redeem herself at some point. NOPE.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Avril
  • Avril
  • 13-04-2018

Enthralling

I started listening early in the morning, and carried on until it finished. Really well read. By Clare Corbett, and a twisty story with people you will love to hate. No blood and gore, a well written thriller with a well devised ending.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Teddi
  • Teddi
  • 08-04-2018

Excellent throughput!

I rarely get around to reviewing books but after hearing that this was the authors first novel I wanted to say how much I enjoyed it . The story kept you guessing throughout and had a wonderful twist at the end. I would definitely recommend.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for tracie
  • tracie
  • 25-05-2018

Started well

Much promise at the beginning. However, I found the story a rather poor version of The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances (which was excellent).

The characters were not likeable and found I could not care less about what happened to any of them. The narrator, however, was excellent.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms. V. Ca Rver
  • Ms. V. Ca Rver
  • 06-05-2018

Disappointing & Obvious

I was really disappointed with this book, I kept waiting for something to happen or a different narrative but I found it slow and just wanted it to be over. A bit happened at the end but for me that was totally predictable. I’ll have to buy extra credits this month because this has been a waste.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Book Fan
  • Book Fan
  • 11-07-2018

Been done, a thousand times before, but better

I had high hopes for this story. I had read a few reviews in magazines and on this site.

When it starts off you think, okay we have a nasty Mum in law story and the early part is okay. But then it goes down a road of stories I have been too many times. The twist, if that is what it is supposed to be, is not a surprise in the least.

There are good bits and for those who have not read too much, this is worth a gamble. But for the most of us, a plain disappointment.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debbie Morris-Gray
  • Debbie Morris-Gray
  • 30-04-2018

Boring with an infuriating female lead

I almost gave up 5 mins in but persevered with the first very weak hook into the story happening in chapter 3. Now at chapter 23 but can't do any more, female lead Emily is the most irritating, paranoid and submissive character which left me wanting to scream at her that she was causing all the misinterpretations herself and without these misinterpretations there really us no story.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for PastaPicture
  • PastaPicture
  • 20-03-2019

Grim

Boring predictable storyline, unrealistic characters and by the end I couldn't have cared less if every character had perished. Awful. No idea why people are raving about this one.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for scrunchieang
  • scrunchieang
  • 16-03-2019

couldn't wait for it to end

I have tried but am giving up as this book is really annoying me. the relationship between the two main characters is ridiculous and totally unbelievable. why on earth does she stay? sorry author, but I can't listen anymore....

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janet biglari
  • Janet biglari
  • 26-06-2018

Dreadful story saved by great narration

This is a truly awful story and the 'twist' is completely unbelievable expecting the listener to suspend all rational thought. The only thing that kept me going to the end was the great narration of Clare Corbett. To put this book on a level with The Girlfriend is a mistake as there is no comparison at all apart from a mother and son relationship. It found it really difficult to like any of the characters and found Emily totally irritating for a supposed career woman she lacked any insight or intelligence. As for Adam to say anymore would be a plot spoiler so I will just say I could not warm to him at all !! Overall don't buy this book if you are expecting The Girlfriend or Behind Closed Doors or you will be disappointed.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kay
  • Kay
  • 24-04-2018

amazing

best story I have heard in a long time!
fave narrator too
definitely recommend, never write reviews usually

3 people found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.