Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.79

After 2 months, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

When a journey to New York is interrupted by missing diamonds and a body in the lifeboat, there is only one woman who can help: Fen Churche!  

1945. Fen Churche follows her dreams and sails for New York. She books passage on a steam ship from France to America, excited to dance the night away in the glamorous ballroom and play games on deck. Nothing will stand in the way of her trip, not even when an eccentric heiress’s diamond tiara goes missing....

Looking forward to relaxing with her favourite crossword puzzles, Fen’s quiet passage is horribly disrupted by another crime - this time a murder. Fen finds Genie, a young actress bound for Broadway, strangled in her own cabin. With no police on board and a frantic captain, Fen decides to do a little snooping of her own. 

When another body turns up, hidden in a lifeboat, whilst the ship is in the middle of the Atlantic, Fen feels sure these dreadful crimes are linked. Through her sleuthing she meets light-hearted lieutenants returning from the war, charming cabin boys and snooty first-class passengers who look down their nose at her. But it isn’t until Fen realises that one person is missing from the passenger list that she is finally on the murderer’s trail. 

With only rolling waves and sea mists for company, can Fen solve the case before they dock in New York and the killer escapes for good? 

An absolute treat for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey, and Jacqueline Winspear.

©2021 Fliss Chester (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic Reviews

"Nail-biting suspense and powerful emotion.... A marvellous treat for historical mystery fans.... A compulsively readable thriller that has me waiting with bated breath for the next." (Bookish Jottings

What listeners say about The Moonlit Murders

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.