Try free for 30 days

  • The Marriage Season

  • By: Jane Dunn
  • Narrated by: Ruth Redman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 41 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (52 ratings)

A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook free.
1 credit/month after trial—to buy any title you like, yours to keep.
Listen all you want to a selection of thousands of Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Marriage Season cover art

The Marriage Season

By: Jane Dunn
Narrated by: Ruth Redman
Free with 30-day trial

$16.45/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $25.99

Buy Now for $25.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

‘It’s not a fair world I’m afraid. Beauty or fortune carries the day. You have the beauty and I the fortune, so there’s every chance we’ll succeed’

In Regency England, marriage is everything. For young widow Sybella Lovatt, the time has come to find a suitable husband for her sister and ward Lucie. Male suitors are scarce near their Wiltshire estate, so the sisters resolve to head to London in time for the Season to begin.

Once ensconced at the Mayfair home of Lady Godley, Lucie’s godmother, the whirl of balls, parties and promenades can begin. But the job of finding a husband is fraught with rules and tradition. Jostling for attention are the two lords – the charming and irresistible Freddie Lynwood and the preternaturally handsome Valentine Ravenell, their enigmatic neighbour from Shotten Hall, Mr Brabazon, and the dangerous libertine Lord Rockliffe, with whom the brooding Brabazon is locked in deadly rivalry.

Against the backdrop of glamorous Regency England, Sybella must settle Lucie’s future, protect her own reputation, and resist the disreputable rakes determined to seduce the beautiful widow. As the Season ends, will the sisters have found the rarest of things – a suitable marriage with a love story to match?

Sunday Times bestselling author Jane Dunn brings the Regency period irresistibly to life in a thrilling novel packed with surprising revelations, which all comes wittily, gloriously, good in the end.

Perfect for fans of Gill Hornby, Janice Hadlow, Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer and anyone with a Bridgerton-shaped hole in their lives.

©2023 Jane Dunn (P)2023 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about The Marriage Season

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story.

A well structured book with lovely characters. Good story of love and family. Nicely narrated.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

How many times do can you use corinthians?

I started out liking this book but it wore me down a bit. The overuse of archaic vocabulary felt like it was thrown in to make it more period, while some of the plot didn't match the period at all. It was an easy listen but just OK.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Forgotten times The Marriage season.

A lovely story of love and happiness. Very captivating. Excellent performance. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for romance that also leaves you able to imagine what is going on.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Smart, Pride&Prejudice-like, this sisterly story is happy.

Good narration. Classic 1810 romantic Ton settings plus contemporary human rights matters gently, dear readers, introduced with happy resolution.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I truly felt I was there!

I loved this story. I love period romance but this was the first time I truly felt that I was in that era. I love love love the narrators voice. I could listen to her and her pronunciations all day long. Thank you to both Jane Dunn and Ruth for this treat.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story line

Love stories of this era, the way the dresses are explained you can see them a beautiful big gowns

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A Regency Romance

A lovely little story about 2 beautiful, strong woman finding 2 strong and handsome men.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Sisters making their mark... But not quite hitting the mark for me

Sisters making a mark on society!

I listened to this book as it was a free audible member download.

The story was fairly well written, and I would say the historical accuracy around the commentary of society was good. However, I felt the two main male protagonists (although likely historically accurate) were both fairly boring and weak characters. I also felt that there was a lack of real chemistry between both romantic pairings. I think it would have been worthwhile to explore the characters personal story arc and development a little more than it was.

The storyline in the middle dragged on, however The ending did pace up and was worth reading. I appreciated that this book explored aspects of Regency society that other romances of a similar genre overlook.

Overall though, I will not be continuing with the series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.