Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $34.76

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

As they walked toward the railway station, their mother took an envelope from her handbag. "I want you to keep this somewhere safe."

"What’s in the letter?"

"Listen carefully. You’re never to open it unless you or your sister are in real trouble. Promise me."

England, 1943: Home is no longer safe for eight-year-old twins Molly and Jacob. Night after night, wailing bombs and screeching planes skim the rooftops overhead. They cradle each other, shivering in terror, not knowing if they will live to see dawn. Their mother, Martha, has no choice but to evacuate them to the safety of the countryside. 

At the train station, Martha bites back tears as she says good-bye to her precious children. Knowing she might never see them again, she gives Jacob a letter, pressing the envelope into his hands and telling him to only read it if they are in danger. 

In the country, Molly and Jacob must adjust to life with strangers. Every night they dream of returning home to the arms of their beloved mother. But then the unimaginable happens. Martha is killed in an explosion, leaving the twins all alone in the world. 

The war has robbed Molly and Jacob of everything - all they have left is one another. Motherless and destitute, they face the grim reality of life in an orphanage. The time has finally come for Jacob to open the letter. What secret does it hold, and could it change the course of their tragic fate? Because if they are together, they can survive anything - but what if they are torn apart? 

From the best-selling author of The Orphan Sisters comes an utterly heartbreaking and unforgettable tale of two children who must lean on each other in a time of tragedy and learn the shocking truth of their past. Fans of Wives of War, Lisa Wingate, and Diney Costeloe will be swept away by this sublime World War Two novel. 

©2020 Shirley Dickson (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Lost Children

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Emotional, believable, a wonderful read.

I just adore this author. Couldn't stop listening and can't wait for her next novel.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book I've read all year!

Such a rich story, I couldn't wait to keep listening to it. loved the narrator's voice too. Fantastic book, absolutely love this author's writing style!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sheila McCormick
  • Sheila McCormick
  • 30-10-2020

Outstanding story and narration

One of the best novels of this era I have ever listened to. I’m glad I listened to The Outcast Girls first. I like meetings he same characters again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Baa Baa Bitty
  • Baa Baa Bitty
  • 21-10-2020

A really good book

One of the best books I’ve listened to in a while. The narrator was perfect too.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for bookworm
  • bookworm
  • 10-11-2020

Narrated

I loved Rosie Jones telling the story, makes a change from boring voices that ramble on and on well done Rosie x

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. B. Harland
  • Mrs. B. Harland
  • 18-10-2020

Lovely Read

Heartwarming story, brought me to tears on more than one occasion. Will definitely be looking for more from this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patrick Dee
  • Patrick Dee
  • 06-10-2020

So wonderfully written and narrated

Once again Shirley The lost Children was a stunning book, it was edge of the seat for me which I will let the readers find for themselves , the narration again was so wonderfully done , thats 4 of your books that have been a pleasure to listen to, thank you 🍷

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.