Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

When I wake up in the middle of the night, it’s not a sound that disturbs me. It’s a feeling. Silently, I creep to my daughter’s room, breathing a sigh of relief when I see her sleeping, her night-light twirling, butterfly shapes moving their pink wings. Quickly, I lock the door. I won’t let anything happen to my little girl. 

You tell him everything. The husband you adore, the father of your child, your best friend. 

He knows, just by looking at your sage green eyes, when something is wrong. The two of you can communicate with a glance or a touch of the hand. 

Except what if you can’t? 

What if your happy marriage has plastered over one huge lie? A lie you have even started to believe yourself in order to survive? 

What if you have a secret, something you have hidden from your beloved husband and your strawberry-scented baby girl to keep them safe? What if the guilt has kept you up, night after night, for as long as you can remember? 

What happens when suddenly, after 28 years, that secret refuses to stay buried? What will you do now that everyone you love, everything you cherish, is in harm’s way? 

An emotional, thought-provoking, and beautifully written novel that examines the pieces of ourselves we are afraid of and the impossible decisions we make when we are desperate. Fans of Jodi Picoult, Kerry Fisher, and Liane Moriarty will be moved by this heartbreaking tale. 

©2020 Nicole Trope (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Life She Left Behind

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Suzanne
  • Suzanne
  • 09-09-2020

Narrator was horrible

I had to stop listening. When the narrator spoke as the young girl in an overly sweet sing song voice it was nauseating. I have 14 grandchildren age 2-20 and trust me none of them spoke like that

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.