Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $23.41

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

The Legion is the action-packed tenth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

Egypt, AD 49. Cato, one of the youngest Prefects of the Roman army, and Centurion Macro have a tough posting: to track down and destroy a gang of former gladiators who have turned to piracy. Driven by vengeance, these hardened brutes have been defiling temples, sinking Roman ships, and slaughtering men, women and children.

What's worse is that they are doing it all under the name of Macro and Cato, in an attempt to stir up a rebellion against the occupying forces. And it's working. If Macro and Cato don't stop the pirates in time, it could be the beginning of the end for the Roman Empire.

©2010 Simon Scarrow (P)2012 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"I don't need this kind of competition!" (Bernard Cornwall)
"Scarrow's novels rank with the best." ( Independent)

What listeners say about The Legion

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brutal

Oof the bit when Macro smashed his sword on that guys head from the top through to his jaw was brutal.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Bravo duo

Another great story and another great performance by the narrator. The dynamic duo have an epic chase to capture Ajax, so near so many times then slips from their grasp. It makes for an exciting tale.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JS55
  • JS55
  • 06-05-2018

I enjoy this series.

This has been a great series so far but I feel that with every new book there is less of a hold of my attentiveness. in the ea6books I could not wait to get to the end, then start the next story. But now they are starting to be predictable. I will start the next story shortly and hopefully it will not be so predictable. I still have enjoyed the whole series

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SE75
  • SE75
  • 21-08-2019

Typical Macro & Cato jaunt

An enjoyable if not a little predictable adventure. Set in Egypt and makes for a good back drop. Would like to see another Eastern posting for the pair. The likeable Macro is still a man's man, and live his humour. The brilliant but boring Cato comes in to his own in this story and we get a glimpse of his future potential. The battle scenes are just like previous books, and follow history pretty well but with a good dose of artistic licence, which doesn't really detract from the story or make it unbelievable. Noticed an increase in foul language (which is very life like) but means my 14 year old lad can't read this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon
  • Simon
  • 17-08-2017

Macro and Cato Going on a Bear Hunt

I still love these books. There is little better a way to while away some hours than in the company of Marco and Cato especially with the excellent Jonathan Keeble at the microphone. This one sees our two heroes led a rather merry dance by their nemesis, the ex-gladiator Ajax. There's lots of great action and a slightly unexpected conclusion as Scarrow once again delivers a high quality adventure. There is also a decent twist in the plot near the end which I personally didn't see coming.

If you like the previous ones you should be as happy as me again with the one small proviso that Ajax's continuing survival does take a little bit of swallowing as the book goes on. Still one of my favourite series though.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Daniel jonberger
  • Daniel jonberger
  • 29-09-2020

Wow

The series is just getting better and Jonathan Keeble is such a master to drag you in the story and wanting more. Thank you!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alison
  • Alison
  • 06-09-2020

Legate

A couple of repeated sentences in the recording. Otherwise most pronunciation ok except Cannae. Thanks.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mungo
  • mungo
  • 26-07-2020

ok but a bit samey!

decent entrainment with potential for another story. narrator was really good at setting the scene

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10-07-2020

One of the best in series

Again very well narrated. The action seems constant, further development of the characters and some fine twists and turns.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for polymath
  • polymath
  • 09-06-2020

Unexpected final twist in the tale...gripping

A gripping listen. Macro and Cato really have their work cut out hunting down Ajax.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for calum thomson
  • calum thomson
  • 26-05-2020

Amazing

Love this series! Twists and turns at every corner. You really feel like you are growing with these characters throughout, can't wait to see what happens next.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for PAT
  • PAT
  • 22-04-2020

Epic series

Macro and Kato soldier on, these are such great, brilliant written and read books, worth every penny.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for erickhen
  • erickhen
  • 24-05-2019

Good but poor pronunciation

Great story somewhat spoilt by the mispronunciation of many of the Latin names. The pronunciation from one book to the next is not consistent which makes it even more irritating.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.