Try free for 2 months

  • The Emperor's Exile

  • The thrilling Sunday Times bestseller
  • By: Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 12 hrs
  • 4.9 out of 5 stars (76 ratings)

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
The Emperor's Exile cover art

The Emperor's Exile

By: Simon Scarrow
Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

The gripping and action-packed new Roman army adventure in the Eagles of the Empire series by Sunday Times best-selling author Simon Scarrow. The perfect listen for fans of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell. 

Tribune Cato and Centurion Macro, hardened veterans of the Roman army, have faced the empire's enemies from Britannia to Parthia, from Hispania to Judea. Now once again they are on a mission that will imperil their lives and those of all who serve with them. Loyal to the last to their comrades in battle, fearless in the face of the most brutal or barbaric opponents, they are the finest men the emperor can call on in the service of Rome.

©2020 Simon Scarrow (P)2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about The Emperor's Exile

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Audio quality

Is there any reason why Jonathan Keeble decided to record this one on the f--king toilet? Don't get me wrong, there is a certain intimacy hearing someone narrate a book in toilet cubical, but it makes it hard to emmerse myself in the story knowing he's a chapter away from wiping backwards.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

macro and cato's journey

loved it have I have the entire series so please Simon get cracking on the the follow-up I can't wait

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Reasonable book

A decent read but I didn’t enjoy it as much as some of his other books.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable but getting a little old...

Enjoyable listen with fantastic narration but I think this instalment was underwhelming and hamstrung by focusing on fewer characters. The author is scraping the barrel to find excuses for Cato to be put in danger as his rank should prevent him from leading small bands of men on dangerous missions and performing menial tasks that result in danger; these should be delegating to lower ranking officers. Luckily this complaint may be resolved in the next book :)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • mac
  • 02-01-2021

Simon's perfection!

After reading all of this series all I can say is it's another example of Simon's perfection.
I will happily go through them all again.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A walk down a foreign path

(Spoilers) This book differs a lot from. Previous books.
The absence of Macro is sometimes too much, but the story continues nicely and Cato has enough presence in the book to really carry it along.
It feels a little shallow as opposed to previous books in the series but is a welcome return regardless..

Strap yourself in for the next instalment as I believe we will be reunited with macro once again.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Didn't disappoint!

I was expecting not to like this further episode of Cato and Macro. However I can't wait for another year to pass and continue the adventure!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.