Get Your Free Audiobook

The Killing House

Paula Maguire, Book 6
Narrated by: Joanne King
Series: Paula Maguire, Book 6
Length: 8 hrs and 30 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)

Non-member price: $31.21

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns in The Killing House, the sixth novel in Claire McGowan's series. For fans of Sharon Bolton's Daisy in Chains and Elly Griffiths' The Woman in Blue. Peter James calls her novels 'astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying'.

When a puzzling missing persons case opens up in her hometown, forensic psychologist Paula Maguire can't help but return once more.

Renovations at an abandoned farm have uncovered two bodies: a man known to be an IRA member missing since the '90s and a young girl whose identity remains a mystery.

As Paula attempts to discover who the girl is and why no one is looking for her, an anonymous tip-off claims that her own long-lost mother is also buried on the farm.

When another girl is kidnapped, Paula must find the person responsible before more lives are destroyed. But there are explosive secrets still to surface. And even Paula can't predict that the investigation will strike at the heart of all she holds dear.

©2018 Claire McGowan (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.

What listeners say about The Killing House

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the killing house

great 6 books felt l knew all the characters personally, didn't want sixth book to end wanted to hear the next part of Maggie and Paula lives . having lived inLondon in the seventies , the ira were busy then , it was a nerve racking experience at times

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beth down the Road
  • Beth down the Road
  • 01-09-2020

The best tie up loose ends

I have read a ton of series and this is the best end to any off them. BRAVO

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bijou Baby
  • Bijou Baby
  • 06-06-2019

More Please

Love the writing, Love the story, Love Paula. More please. Great read to get a feel for the political environment for Northern Ireland. The reader does not fabricate voices. She just alters her tone a bit so she doesn't sound corny. One of my favs.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amanda MC
  • Amanda MC
  • 22-03-2019

Action in Ireland

Brilliant story, loved the reader especially her accent, great emotion and held my interest. Good story line.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mariclare
  • Mariclare
  • 12-05-2018

fantastic finale!!!

amazing writing and the story was gripping from start to finish as usual from Claire McGowan