Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $19.75

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The perfect family. The perfect chance. The perfect lie.  

A stunning novel about motherhood and betrayal, for listeners who love Sarah Vaughan and Louise Candlish. 

Kate trusts Della, and Della trusts Kate. Their downfall is each other. 

When Kate moves to London after the disappearance of her sister, she’s in need of a friend. A chance meeting leads Kate to Della, a life coach who runs support groups for young women, dubbed by Kate as ‘the Janes’.

Della takes a special interest in Kate, and Kate soon finds herself entangled in Della’s life - her house, her family and her husband. It’s only when she realises that she’s in too deep that Della’s veneer begins to crumble and the warnings from ‘the Janes’ begin to come true.

Why is Della so keen to keep Kate by her side? What does Kate have that Della might want? And what really lies beneath the surface of their friendship?

A twisty psychological thriller for fans of Louise Candlish and Harriet Tyce.

©2021 Charlotte Northedge (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"This is ace. Very, very acute on class, aspiration, women and status and all those agonising negotiations and anxieties." (Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent)

"Delicious, compelling, a debut to watch!" (Fiona Cummins)

What listeners say about The House Guest

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

cringe🤦‍♀️

Narrator was fabulous...story however was TERRIBLE...I cant believe I acutely listened to the end...thinking maybe it would improve, but NO...arhhhhhh STUPID BRAINLESS TWIT ,story just made me angry ...🤦‍♀️

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Unfinished stories are not for me

Wonderful Story, well written and beautifully read. But, for me, ruined by the ending, if you can call it an ending. Maybe a part 2 if so I wont be reading it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JJ
  • JJ
  • 20-07-2021

Dreary

This was a hard book to get through and a lot of suspended disbelief was required to do so. The chief protagonist’s actions were largely implausible and it was difficult to sympathise with her since she whined almost constantly without making any effort to change her circumstances. Stuck in France for several months with only a non English speaking person visiting, does she decide to learn French? No! She just complains that she is unable to speak to anyone. The narrator spoke exceptionally slowly and made a few errors, calling people by the wrong name etc, but really that was the least of this books problems.

I increased the playback speed just to get through it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for I couldn’t live without audible EVER!🤗💯❤️
  • I couldn’t live without audible EVER!🤗💯❤️
  • 22-05-2021

WOWWW😱👏🏽 what an AMAZING narrator and loved this book!👏🏽

This narrator was absolutely AMAZING! WOW WOW WOW! She was OUTSTANDING!!!😱👏🏽💯💯she has an amazing talent! I will be getting more books read by her for SURE! She actually made me feel EVERYTHING, i was transported right into this story thanks to kristin😁👏🏽 I Loved this book and im devastated its finished now! I haven’t been able to get into a story for so long now but I LOVED this! So a huge well done to Charlotte too!! Brilliant brilliant brilliant!!!💯💯💯👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽 thank you audible for another FABULOUS book!👏🏽👏🏽

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for helen carwright
  • helen carwright
  • 19-07-2021

loved it

Really good listen, fantastic story and the narration was excellent. Enjoyed this story from beginning to end

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beeny Wildblood
  • Beeny Wildblood
  • 05-07-2021

Compelling from the first paragraph

My only complaint is I didn't get a lot done apart from dog walking and ironing as I kept finding excuses to listen to this novel. It was gripping from the start and at every turn wasn't what I was expecting. A really compelling story from beginning to end. Absolutely loved it and can't wait for Charlotte Northedge's next novel.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Daisokie
  • Daisokie
  • 07-06-2021

Not great

Didn’t like the narration. Could do decent different voices, but so over dramatic! One character who is meant to be a hippyish laid back nomad type sounded like a girl guide leader or public school head girl - just cringy. One of those I had to keep winding back because of major zone-out.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pam
  • Pam
  • 04-06-2021

Tedious

This starts well.
It then becomes unbelievable and is about 3 hrs too long.
Could have been good had it been differently executed.
Narration was less than average.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicks
  • Nicks
  • 02-06-2021

Narration at its best!

Kristen Atherton is superb as narrator of this story. She keeps you wanting to listen further even though there may be a few parts that are a bit unrealistic and ridiculous, ie the stupidity of the main character! But persevere, as the book in its entirety is definitely worth it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for G
  • G
  • 31-05-2021

Gripping right to the end

I usually listen to non fiction books. The House Guest is my first audible fiction listen that I found captivating from the outset. The plot leaves the listener wandering right up the end. The change of voices for each character gives depth and context. I will be on the lookout for other titles by the author.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anne Reoch
  • Anne Reoch
  • 31-05-2021

Frustrating

Annoyingly compliant main character!
Such a potentially good ending possible, frustrating not to get there.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for holly1
  • holly1
  • 28-05-2021

Enjoyed the book up until the end.

I really enjoyed this book. Lots of intricate details. I had an idea leading up to the conclusion on the final link but still enjoyed up until the last sentence. Audio good, only problem is the children's voices... v v high pitched! I guess difficult to do v young voices. I would recommend.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for phone
  • phone
  • 23-05-2021

really bsd

Just really bad, terrible writing, overblown narrative. I don't think any of the characters were sympathetic, just don't believe anyone would believe in any of them

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.