Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $49.95

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Jessica Raine stars in all four BBC Radio 4 full-cast dramatisations of John Galsworthy's Forsyte novels.

An irresistible family saga of love, money and betrayal, The Forsytes: The Complete Series encompasses four acclaimed BBC Radio 4 productions of Galsworthy's perennially popular epic, spanning 50 years from 1886 to 1936.

The Forsytes sees wealthy Soames Forsyte questioning his relationship with his beautiful wife, Irene. As evidence of her betrayal emerges, the family is torn apart and scandal unleashed. In The Forsytes Continues, it is 1920 and Soames would do anything for his sparkling daughter, Fleur. But when she falls in love with the wrong man, how can he stop history repeating itself? The Forsytes Returns picks up Fleur's story four years later, as she vows to put her past behind her and settle down. But those around her are intent on stirring up trouble. The Forsytes Concludes introduces young Dinny Cherrell, Fleur's cousin. Unbeknown to both, their lives will be paralleled in ways neither could have predicted....

Starring Jessica Raine, with a cast including Joseph Millson, Juliet Aubrey, Jonathan Bailey, Ben Lambert and Sarah Ridgeway, this compelling drama delves behind the Edwardian façade to reveal Galsworthy's wonderful wit, observation and insight into human nature.

©2017 BBC Worldwide Ltd (P)2017 BBC Worldwide Ltd

What listeners say about The Forsytes: The Complete Series

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful!

I was absolutely engaged with this story and family. The acting is excellent. I'm sure I will listen again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

Any additional comments?

15 hours of enjoyment. First part is the most interesting. Acting is brilliant, narrates make you "see" everything, like watching a movie.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

I loved it, easy to listen to, great family saga, brought back memories of enjoying the books

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 13-06-2019

Exceptional

Actors brought the characters to life. Listening brought a play in my mind. I was able to imagine the scene as tho I was in the room experiencing every moment. Wish all books were dramatized this way.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S.
  • S.
  • 22-12-2019

Great British Theater

If you like British theater you'll love this book - - fantastic performance and interesting story lines. Characters are rich and interesting - -

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aziel
  • Aziel
  • 05-05-2019

Wonderful

This story was wonderful. It draws you in from the start and you find yourself throughout both having compassion and holding anger towards certain characters throughout this tragic lifetime. It is well worth the time and I will be listening to it many more time in the future.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Allyson
  • Allyson
  • 21-09-2020

Entertaining

This was an engrossing story, well-performed . The last volume was confusingly repetitive, as though all the alternate options were thrown in a stew pot and whatever floated to the top was included. The ending has a few twists.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hermione
  • Hermione
  • 16-06-2019

Excellent dramatization!

Very enjoyable listening and wonderful actor-narrators, really made the multigenerational saga come to life. Highly recommend! Have not read the original books so don’t know how they compare but the story of the Forsytes as told in this audible presentation was interesting and very entertaining.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nadia Elmasri
  • Nadia Elmasri
  • 10-07-2018

Best BBC drama I’ve listened to

Over the years I’ve listened to many dramatized books, bone by the BBC and other companies; this one is by far the best. The story and preference is better than most..

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sonia Amira Bendjemil
  • Sonia Amira Bendjemil
  • 14-04-2018

Loved it!

I loved this! it was like listening to a movie. The voices were on point.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss Monica Rygh
  • Miss Monica Rygh
  • 29-03-2018

Fantastic

A fantastic dramtisation of a great classic! I really loved it and would listen again.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary Jane 50
  • Mary Jane 50
  • 23-02-2019

Sloppy editing

Well acted and narrated, though the frequent changes of narrator towards the end was confusing. The really irritating thing about this presentation was a lack of editing, and in particular the constant interruptions to the narrative by between-episodes incidental music and cast lists extremely irritating. Yes. Of course they were part of the original Radio 4 broadcast, but it would have been so easy for someone to sit in an editing suite and cut out all the unnecessary interruptions. It smack of sloppy - or non-existent - attention to detail and, for me, spoiled what should have been an enjoyable audio presentation.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joy
  • Joy
  • 09-05-2018

The Forsytes

I remember watching the BBC TV series when I was a schoolgirl, but couldn’t recall all of the story. Brilliant audio book which I will have to listen to again and again.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amanda
  • Amanda
  • 29-08-2018

Fabulous!

I cannot find the proper words to describe how much I enjoyed this mammoth listen. The characters were beautifully portrayed, one felt the highs and lows of the generations so acutely. The story was wonderfully told and I was so sad to find I’d reached the end. Simply brilliant! 5 stars and completely addictive.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 24-05-2020

Lockdown in heaven

I think the Forsyth Saga is my favourite book. I read it, or, in this case, listen to it every 10 years or so and it never disappoints. "Peace comes through accepting things as they are and not as you'd like them to be." Very true. Beautifully dramatlised & presented.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Luke
  • Luke
  • 01-09-2018

An enjoyable saga

This was a very good dramatisation and I thought parts one and two were excellent, but... part three was disappointing. The first two parts were atmospheric and had a wonderful magic that was missing later on. By the end I got slightly bored and found myself drifting. Overall it was very enjoyable but just too long for me.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Graham G Grant
  • Graham G Grant
  • 22-01-2019

Audio soap - recommended for Trollope fans

This is obligatory listening for fans of Trollope’s Chronicles of Barchester and The Pallisers on Audible. A sprawling family saga spanning decades, with many timeless - and some jarringly contemporary - themes, from unrequited love to sexual consent, mental illness - and even Islamic conversion. Utterly addictive and beautifully performed, you won’t want it to end...

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for looby
  • looby
  • 05-05-2020

Very good dramatisation

Galsworthy's full saga is brought to life here by an excellent cast. The story is taken from a number of books and it does get a bit weaker at the end as it goes off to another branch of the family but it covers the characters and their period in history and the social conventions well. The music added to the piece although the start and end of episode credits and music could I imagine get annoying if you were listening for longer periods at a time.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs K M Rosindale
  • Mrs K M Rosindale
  • 08-01-2021

Brilliant

BBC at ts best. Highly recommended. All the cast are great but Jessica Raine is tremendous.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JENNY SOUTHALL
  • JENNY SOUTHALL
  • 09-10-2020

Excellent

In depth character portrayal is insightful and story plots are intriguing. Enjoyable from start to finish

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.