Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $19.75

Buy Now for $19.75

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

One woman’s secret will shape another’s destiny....

1560: Amy Robsart is trapped in a loveless marriage to Robert Dudley, a member of the court of Queen Elizabeth I. Surrounded by enemies and with nowhere left to turn, Amy hatches a desperate scheme to escape - one with devastating consequences that will echo through the centuries....

Present day: When Lizzie Kingdom is forced to withdraw from the public eye in a blaze of scandal, it seems her life is over. But she’s about to encounter a young man, Johnny Robsart, whose fate will interlace with hers in the most unexpected of ways. For Johnny is certain that Lizzie is linked to a terrible secret dating back to Tudor times. If Lizzie is brave enough to go in search of the truth, then what she discovers will change the course of their lives forever.

 Moving between the Tudor era and the present day, The Forgotten Sister is a stunning historical novel that draws on one of history’s most compelling and enduring mysteries. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Barbara Erskine, Victoria Hislop and Kate Morton.  

©2020 Nicola Cornick (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"A fascinating tale with intriguing twists." (Barbara Erskine)

"Her books are fabulous." (New York Times best-selling author Julia Quinn) 

"There is much to enjoy in a sumptuous novel that slips between present day and 1557." (Sunday Mirror)

What listeners say about The Forgotten Sister

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SuzReads
  • SuzReads
  • 09-05-2020

This story will stay with me forever!

Wow... what a journey! If only history books had been this compelling when I was at school. I'd not read (listened to) anything by Nicola Cornick before but this certainly won't be the last occasion I enjoy her novels. The writing is so compelling and intelligent that I totally believed in the story from the very first words. I couldn't work out how things were going to come together and I had no idea where the author would take the reader next. The narrator was excellent, having a voice perfect for not only the 21st century but also the Tudor period. I suspect she enjoyed narrating the tale, as her emotional rendition and 'take' on the writing was spot on. Well done! Finally, I love the way the author has cleverly woven the Tudor story into the present day, with parallel/mirrored events. A very satisfying audible book, which deserves more than 5 stars!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cazzie Harris
  • Cazzie Harris
  • 25-05-2020

Great story

It’s nice to read something different
Really enjoyed the story and for once I couldn’t predict the end

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 29-12-2020

wonderful narration

Really enjoyed this book and the narrator really made it with the wide range of accents, especially the subtle Norfolk one of the Elizabethan character.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MrsO’D
  • MrsO’D
  • 07-07-2020

A cleverly woven tale

For anyone interested in Tudor times, this is an entertaining listen which weaves the story of Amy Robsart into a modern setting. While this construct can be a little heavy handed at time, it is nevertheless an engaging story & definitely the best of Nicola Cornick’s books which I’ve listened to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lizalou
  • Lizalou
  • 17-09-2021

Interesting idea

This is an interesting take on an event from history that is rather shrouded in mystery. I found it quite confusing at first to work out which characters were supposed to be which historic characters but I’m glad I persevered to the satisfactory ending.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Curvyme71
  • Curvyme71
  • 29-08-2021

Disappointing

I could not get into this book whatsoever. 13 chapters in and it was still going over the same old ground....I got totally bored with it as there was no substance to the story.
It was disappointing considering that the prologue made it sound exciting....

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.