Regular price: $31.21

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – love a book or swap it for free
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $16.45/month
OR
In Basket

Publisher's Summary

Some flames burn too brightly to be extinguished.

This exceptional new thriller from Joe Hill is essential reading for 2016 and perfect for fans of Justin Cronin's The Passage.

In a world overtaken by a deadly and dramatic new virus, Harper is determined to live long enough to deliver her baby. But when all it takes is a spark to start a deadly blaze, she's going to need some help from the mysterious fireman.

©2016 Joe Hill (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers US

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Refreshing to have a pregnant woman as the hero.

What a Great story, well narrated and not at all what I expected .

Longing for more from a great hero.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Good performance by narrator, mediocore storyline

The narrator performed this story very well, aside from a slightly wandering English accent for one of the protagonists. The story line left a fair bit to be desired, reasonably predictable narrative, characters lacking depth. Antagonists were illogically evil, their motivations and reactions didn't make sense or were taken far past the point of belief. Not bad but not good, and pretty disappointing given the hype around the book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Coudn't get past the irritating characters

What disappointed you about The Fireman?

The characters depicted were very erratic. It reminded me of a soap opera script where the characters fly off the handle for dramatic effect and it all seemed so unrealistic that I found it hard to suspend my disbelief of the science fictional story around it. I could not make it halfway through this book.

Has The Fireman put you off other books in this genre?

I will certainly be looking at the more critical reviews if I dip into this genre again, so that I can identify whether the faults with the book would be a deal-breaker for me, as was in this case.

What does Kate Mulgrew bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Kate Mulgrew narrates beautifully, and my only criticism performance wise is the dodgy English accent. Her British friends are probably too scared to tell her!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nowhere near as dark as his father

Not a bad story but lacked some extra layer that King has, which I'm used to reading.
A little bit too... light. Not bad, but just didn't pull me in and give me the sense of dread and discomfort I crave.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

not bad.

I'm beginning to love the dystopian genre.

I had a listen to Justin Cronin's epic 'The Passage' trilogy, and was expecting something similar. The Fireman was good, but not as good.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

one of the best ever!

This story is absolutely fantastic!! kept me glued to my seat and calling out in happiness, shock, horror and sadness and happiness all over again!! Kate Mulgrew is a brilliant narrator also, I adore her!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just fantastic !

What a story teller I just couldn't put in down I Highly recommend this audio book awesome narrating too !

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Somebody please shoot me.

I could not get into this book. I could not wait for it to end.
It was pointless and overly dramatic.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Could listen to Kate all day

Great story, really loved the main characters and all the Mary Poppins references.

Fantastic narration, Kate has such a great voice and I appreciated the English accent wasn’t over-cooked like it so often is by Americans

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

don't like this book to slow can i return it??????

don't like this book to slow can i return this is the 2nd book in as many weeks that i tried to return.