Get Your Free Audiobook

The Empty Nest

Narrated by: Jasmine Blackborow
Length: 8 hrs and 50 mins
4 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

"Sometimes we can’t see what’s right in front of us, Kat. Everyone has secrets, even the people we love, the people we live with...."

Kat remembers the days when her only daughter Amy wouldn't leave her side. Amy was the baby who cried when you walked out of the room, the toddler who was too shy to speak to strangers, the small child who clung to Kat's legs in the school playground. 

But now Amy is grown up, and Amy is gone - to university in a town several hours away. Kat's house - which once felt too full, too noisy, too busy - is deathly quiet, and Kat awaits the daily phone call to tell her that her beloved daughter is thriving and happy. 

But one day Amy doesn’t call. Kat’s husband and friends think she is being paranoid - surely Amy is just out, having fun with her friends. But Kat knows right away that something is very wrong. Her daughter would never forget to call. She would never just disappear.... After all, Amy has nothing to run from. Or does she? 

A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Girl Before, and Gone Girl will be gripped by this story about a mother’s obsessive love for her child.

©2019 Sue Watson (P)2019 Bookouture
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Predictable

I did not enjoy this book at all. It was tedious and boring and I guessed the outcome early on The narrative was repetitive and the characters most unlikable. Don’t bother

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping until the twist at the end

Absolutely loved. the overall plot and suspense.
Would highly recommend. Could not stop listening wherever I went

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mike Thompson
  • Mike Thompson
  • 11-12-2019

The end as good, but the rest....

I’m glad I stuck it out and finished the book, because after the first half of the book saying the exact same thing I was going to quit. I understood the mother/daughter relationship clearly and could have used about 3 chapters less to describe it. You can only say obsessed so many times. We got it.

Also, the plot twists were well written. I was excited about once things actually started happening.

Yay for awesome narration! Saved this book for sure!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AJ Holmes
  • AJ Holmes
  • 19-11-2019

Gripping

Wow! I had my suspicions very early on but shrugged them off but as it turns out, I was spot on. I was both happy and sad that I was right. It's such a shame how people are never who they portray themselves to be. The truth always surfaces...for some, too late.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Schrodingersdeadcat
  • Schrodingersdeadcat
  • 02-11-2019

If you're a mom of a young woman...

You will feel this book. I felt myself tearing up several times as I identified so much with the mother. It's a very well written, well narrated book. I can see that those without a daughter may find it tedious but I was riveted.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for F. Terwilliger
  • F. Terwilliger
  • 31-12-2019

Kept my interest but main character was annoying

Fairly easy to guess who was responsible for Amy’s disappearance. Not a bad story, but found the main character so annoying it was hard to care much.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for V. R.
  • V. R.
  • 16-01-2020

MOVES WAY TOO SLOWLY

This was the most excruciating book I've ever listened to. I forced myself through 5 hours worth and just couldn't torture myself anymore. The story moves WAY TOO SLOWLY; most of it is just one irritating main character ruminating/whining over her daughter being missing chapter and chapter after chapter with no turn of events... This book could have been edited down to a 1/3 of the length. I lost interest. I'm returning it.

On the bright side, the narrator was excellent.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robert Keefer
  • Robert Keefer
  • 12-01-2020

Good Ending

Good ending but very very slow to get to the drama and suspense. Almost gave up on it a few times but glad I didn't.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 12-12-2019

Great listen.

Thus one kept my interest and maxed me want to keep on listening. It was tough to figure out. Little clues pointed every which way.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for eh chaponis
  • eh chaponis
  • 22-11-2019

The Empty Nest

A true thriller through and through!! Loved it! So fast paced, read it straight through in less than a day!! Bravo to Jasmine Blackborow!! I will read her again!! 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻💞

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shawn
  • Shawn
  • 06-11-2019

Great Book

This was a great book from start to end I was engaged the entire time, I have returned the last few books I’ve purchased on here but I was sad when the sad was over I Highly recommend

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Megan M O'Block
  • Megan M O'Block
  • 06-03-2020

Thrilling

Like many other f these psychological thrillers, you can be surprised at the end. I did not guess it.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for deb
  • deb
  • 12-01-2020

Probably the most boring "thriller"

I rarely leave a review, and certainly don't like to leave negative ones as of course we all have different tastes, opinions etc .
The title review described this as "unputdownable"....I struggled to listen up to Chapter 7 . Unbearably boring .
Repetitive & extremely frustrating would be an understatement..

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. Rachel A. Paskin
  • Mrs. Rachel A. Paskin
  • 24-11-2019

great listen,

enjoyed this and love Sue Watson's books, but my fav is our little lies, empty nest had less twists and turns but still good worth a listen

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-11-2019

Repetitive

So frustrating when the mother's concern just dragged on and on, I was eventually
giving up hope that she would ever phone the police ! I lost all interest as a result.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 27-06-2020

Repetitive

Unfortunately I didn't like this book as it was very repetitive, you could see where it was going and it took very very long to get there. I skipped a lot of chapters and didn't miss anything.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jamie L
  • Jamie L
  • 28-01-2020

Obsessive

A sad and pathetic tale of a overly whining and obsessive mother.

At times so sad and dreary it’s unbelievable. Story could have been good but the mother is so pathetic it makes you want to run away from her.

Unbelievable at times. Don’t think I would try any other books from this author.

Bit of an anti climax. Nothing to write home about.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms Millie123
  • Ms Millie123
  • 08-01-2020

Got going in the end!

As always with this author, a good story with an interesting twist. Slow to start but once it moves up a gear, you're hooked. Loved it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jane
  • Jane
  • 31-12-2019

Gripping

This book kept me on the edge of my seat, fascinating story and if you have brought up children you can certainly relate to the story.