Get Your Free Audiobook

The Couple

An Unputdownable Psychological Thriller with a Breathtaking Twist
Narrated by: Katie Villa
Length: 9 hrs and 59 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

Non-member price: $27.79

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Whatever you think you know…you’re wrong.

Following a whirlwind four-month romance, lawyer Claire and hotel entrepreneur Angus are engaged to be married. Happy and successful, and ready to start their new life together, Claire and Angus find what they believe to be the perfect home. 

But when Claire meets Mark, the man selling them the house, he looks eerily familiar. He looks exactly like the man she loved five years ago, the man she couldn’t bear to lose. 

As Claire finds herself irresistibly drawn to Mark and crosses lines she never thought she’d cross, Angus’ behaviour becomes increasingly suspicious. Soon Claire doesn’t know whether she can trust Mark, Angus…or even herself. 

The Couple is a psychological thriller with a stunning twist, perfect for fans of The Girl Before, The Wife Between Us, and The Woman in the Window.

"I got so pulled into The Couple I read it in one go – great twist!" (Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange)

©2019 Sarah Mitchell (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angie
  • Angie
  • 14-03-2019

Horrible

This was the worst book that I’ve ever had to suffer through. I honestly should have returned it, but I was hoping it would get better. I’m so glad it’s finally over. The narrator is one of the best I’ve listened to and is the only reason I made it through the book. Don’t waste your credit or cash.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenn
  • Jenn
  • 09-02-2019

not great but ok

The main character, Claire, is incredibly dumb, painfully so. Her decisions and actions are eventually explained but o still found it hard to relate with based on her character development and the way she breaks down situations and reasons in her head is arduously elementary. She has this strange attraction to this guy, Mark that she and her fiancé purchase a house from. The guy is completely sketchy from the start but she’s so “blinded” with his resemblance to an ex-BF she does anything he asks and he takes total advantage of her. She lets so many things slide in her present life and focuses on things she shouldn’t. Again, we eventually learn why but I still wasn’t that impressed. I stayed interested in the story but also remained consistently annoyed by her personality. I don’t think I’d outright recommend this book but I wouldn’t prevent someone who was about to click the purchase button since it held my interest until the end — I can see why some might find this story more compelling than I did.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joanna Kamil
  • Joanna Kamil
  • 24-03-2019

A bit disappointing

This book had real potential when I first started. The storyline was very slow and too much explanation of what the main character was doing and feeling. Very little dialogue between the characters. Enjoyed the end twist but it was a long haul to get there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tanya H
  • Tanya H
  • 12-04-2019

Predictable Sappy Annoying

I fast forwarded hoping plot will improve to no avail. A waste of reading time I'll never get back.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ziiigggg
  • ziiigggg
  • 05-03-2019

Drivel, don’t bother.

Unrealistic story line, no surprises, irritating characters. Have no idea how this dreadful story managed to get published at all,

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carol
  • Carol
  • 20-02-2019

Will never get the time (or the credit) back

The narrator was so good that I carried on listening to what was the most unbelievable and mind numbing novel I have ever had the misfortune to spend time listening to. Please can Katie Villa read some good books so that her performance is justified? I know that I am at odds with others over this book but would like to bear warning to those who read the reviews and think they are in for an 'unputdownable psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist'!!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms. V. Ca Rver
  • Ms. V. Ca Rver
  • 13-04-2019

Pointless waste of time

This book has no depth at all and is not really a story until the last 9 mins when something happens the build up the what happens is pointless and nothing really, a waste of a credit and a waste of time listening.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sally R
  • Sally R
  • 12-03-2019

great narrator but the story isn't very deep

Don't get me wrong it was a good story but it missed the detail and depth I like in a book. I didn't get a sense of her feelings towards people and herself and she didn't question the weird things people did. Other things were left unanswered, so after being made a big deal of, I didn't get why it wasn't mentioned again. Maybe I missed something but it didn't stop me listening to the whole book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 05-10-2019

Brilliant !!

couldn't stop reading this book thoroughly enjoyed it.recommend this if you like a thriller with a twist .

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Emmie
  • Emmie
  • 11-09-2019

Terrible, waste of 10 hours

The story was disappointing and boring. Totally unsatisfied and unimaginative writing.
There was also a buzzing sound throughout most of it in the background which was very distracting.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 15-07-2019

Completely unbelievable yet gripping

The story line is so unbelievable it's almost funny at times, it's impossible to comprehend how anyone could get so caught up in that kind of situation. The 5 years earlier bits were confusing and the last bit in particular I actually didn't fully get to be honest. Despite its flaws, it was quite gripping and I wanted to know how it ended. The narrator was fairly good expect for the Scottish accent.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachael h.
  • Rachael h.
  • 05-06-2019

Not enough substance

I never felt fully connected with the characters which makes this very unbelievable and forgettable. However a good performance and an easy listen.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Danielle Hine
  • Danielle Hine
  • 20-05-2019

Boring.

Took me months to finish as story not gripping and characters not likeable. persistance didn't pay off either as the ending was quite dull too. Forgettable

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bee Pea
  • Bee Pea
  • 20-05-2019

Not great

The narrator of this book was fantastic but the story was unrealistic, lacked depth and the ending actually annoyed me.
There was so much potential for this kind of story line, I feel the author missed a trick with it.