Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $39.18

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Nobody likes The Complaints - they're the cops who investigate other cops.

Complaints and Conduct Department, to give them their full title, but known colloquially as 'the Dark Side', or simply 'The Complaints'.

Malcolm Fox works for The Complaints. He's just had a result, and should be feeling good about himself. But he's middle-aged, sour and unwell. He also has a father in a care home and a sister who persists in an abusive relationship. In the midst of an aggressive Edinburgh winter, the reluctant Fox is given a new task. There's a cop called Jamie Breck, and he's dirty.

Problem is, no one can prove it. But as Fox takes on the job, he learns that there's more to Breck than anyone thinks. This knowledge will prove dangerous, especially when murder intervenes.

©2009 John Rebus Limited (P)2009 Orion Publishing Group

What listeners say about The Complaints

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela Mbuli
  • Angela Mbuli
  • 14-11-2019

Complaints about The Complaints

I have a few complaints about The Complaints. Ian Rankin's politics are on display throughout the book as he tries to make his detective story a comment on the times. I found this tiresome. I was also uncomfortable with his apparent belief that women who start arguments with their partners deserve a good slap or two. He also is too focused on women as sexual beings. Fox looking at his sister's figure was creepy in the extreme. I use to like Ian Rankin, but after this listen, I probably won't get another

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen
  • Helen
  • 25-01-2015

Brilliant introduction to Malcolm Fox

I've been a fan of Rebus for years and was sceptical of a Rankin Edinburgh book with a different central character, but I was pleasantly surprised.

If anything I enjoyed The Complaints more than the later Rebus books. Learning more of Fox's character and situation as the book progressed was intriguing. I look forward to my next Malcolm Fox instalment.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. D. Smith
  • Mrs. D. Smith
  • 13-01-2015

Fox meets Rebus

I've always loved the Rebus books so thought I'd try one without him. On certain levels they have similar characters - flawed, rule breakers an awkward sibling. I think they became to respect each other after "Saints of the Shadow Bible": but different enough to be their own men. I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to any fan of Ian Rankin. The reading by The magnificent James MacPherson is once again superlative.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ann brown
  • ann brown
  • 02-09-2019

Rebus at his best

Compulsive listening. Characters vivid, plots compelling and historical/geographical details put you right there in the action.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sadie
  • Sadie
  • 09-03-2019

A Great Read

Read this after finishing all the Rebus novels. Wasn't sure if I'd like this book, but realised its Rankin's writing I love not just Rebus. Fox is a complex character, trying to do the right thing at all times without stepping over the line. Here he's trying to clear his name and making uncomfortable bed fellows. Personally this is good if not slightly better than the Rebus series. I wish there were more than two books in this series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-11-2016

Sharp, tighty-plotted, plenty twists.

Sharp, tighty-plotted, surprising, unexpected, clever, intriguing, well-drawn characters, always interesting, full of suspense, very enjoyable and highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue
  • Sue
  • 13-06-2016

Couldn't stop listening!

Excellent book. Malcolm Fox is a great protagonist. Really absorbing story. Can't wait to listen to the next Fox story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KateChip
  • KateChip
  • 25-01-2015

Brilliant new character from Ian Rankin

What a writer Rankin is. I loved Rebus and was unsure if Rankin would be able to enthralled me without the grumpy DI. Well he did and how! Welcome Inspector Malcolm Fox - I look forward to getting to know you.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anne
  • Anne
  • 13-11-2020

Gripping story

I loved this book, Ian Rankin at his best. I’ve read all the Rebus books, this is easily as good. Very well narrated.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jane
  • Jane
  • 28-02-2020

engaging

second time I listened the plot unraveled. you need to concentrate. enjoyable, though. well read.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David
  • David
  • 01-02-2018

"More or less wort a listen," he decided.

Any additional comments?

"Ian Rankin's attributions are absurd," I stated."Tell me about it," my wife replied. "His books would be half as long without them," she added."Perhaps he does it to conceal a thin plot and stale dialogue," I offered."That's perhaps a tad unfair," my wife decided, adding, "we both enjoyed this one, even if the ending was a bit underwhelming.""I suppose so," I allowed, and then decided to add, "especially because James Macpherson is such a good narrator. Really makes the characters come alive, even in a classic sort of detective novel like this one, where the reader is forever on a last name basis with the main character."
"You're such a curmudgeon," my wife groaned, peeling herself out of the armchair and walking away into the kitchen to make tea.
"She's right," I thought to myself, watching her leave. "Nice arse, too."

1 person found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.