Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $27.79

Buy Now for $27.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

One day you will understand that the heart is only as fragile as the choices we make. I tell you this now - we all make surprising decisions for love - ones that can tear our heart out and leave us begging for answers. The most painful choice I’ve ever made, my dearest, was to say good-bye to you. 

When Julie’s mother falls ill, she has no choice but to return to her parents’ Wisconsin resort, Wood Violet, for the summer. Away from the pressures of their corporate jobs in the city, Julie hopes she and husband, Tristan, can start to heal after another failed pregnancy. 

But, on arriving home, Julie discovers resort life is anything but peaceful. She has to focus more on saving the business than her marriage, and the appearance of childhood sweetheart Chase throws her into disarray. 

Then Julie stumbles upon an 18-year-old girl hiding out in an abandoned cabin. The girl, Margaret, seems lost in the world, and Julie takes her under her wing. But Margaret has her own reasons for coming to Wood Violet, which threaten to expose a long-buried secret that could tear Julie’s family apart. 

As the summer draws to the close, Julie must make a choice: Will she return to Chicago with the man she married, or stay and fight for her family with the man she once loved? 

Lose yourself in a life-affirming tale about love, betrayal, and finding your true home, from the best-selling author of The Lighthouse Keeper. Fans of Mary Ellen Taylor, Barbara O’Neal, and This Is Not How It Ends will adore Cynthia Ellingsen’s captivating novel.

©2021 Cynthia Ellingsen (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Choice I Made

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shawne Seignious
  • Shawne Seignious
  • 06-05-2021

Enjoyed this book

I enjoyed the story and the narrator was wonderful. I like most of Miss Ellingsen's books and this one didn't disappoint.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stephanie Lawrence
  • Stephanie Lawrence
  • 06-04-2021

Beautifully read story

This story is a gentle tale of family legacy. All families have the memories we hold on to and cherish and the ones we try so hard to let slide into the past. There are so many moments that are relatable in the book that are captured vividly by the author and the inner thoughts of the main character are perfectly spoken by the narrator.

The Choice I Made....a great choice for any listener.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brent Taylor
  • Brent Taylor
  • 04-04-2021

Gripping, Emotional, Beautiful

A transporting, beautifully told story. Highly recommended. And if you enjoy this, make sure to check out the author’s Starlight Cove series.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.