Try free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $18.22

Buy Now for $18.22

Pay using coupon balance (if available) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

He loves you.

He loves you not.

Amy is fiercely independent, with a high-powered career, a flat of her own and tight-knit friendships. But as she approaches her 30th birthday, she can’t help but rue the one thing she doesn’t have—a relationship.

When Amy comes around following a serious fall, she doesn’t remember anything from the last six months. Not even the upcoming skiing holiday at her aunt’s luxurious chalet in Val d’Isère with her mum and best friends to celebrate her birthday. And she certainly doesn’t remember being swept off her feet by the handsome Dr Jack Stewart....

Jack is the full package—charming, caring and devoted to Amy. Everyone is smitten with him, but as the week goes on, Amy begins to find Jack’s presence chilling. Is her broken mind playing tricks? Or is the perfect boyfriend really too good to be true?

For fans of The Chalet and The Hunting Party, The Boyfriend is a twisting anti-love story that will keep you guessing at every turn, by Michelle Frances, author of the number one best-selling sensation The Girlfriend

©2022 Michelle Frances (P)2022 Macmillan Publishers International Limited

Critic Reviews

"I tore through the pages.... A high-speed chase of a novel." (Louise Candlish)

"Michelle Frances manages to bring fresh energy to this age-old theme of family secrets.... The finale doesn't disappoint." (Daily Mail)

"Toxic family relationships, sultry European settings and an intricate plot which leaves you never knowing who to trust." (Catherine Cooper, author of The Chalet)

What listeners say about The Boyfriend

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Had such promise

Disappointing conclusion.. Despite being a lawyer, another female lead written to make frustratingly stupid decisions

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome 😎

Loved it!
From start to finish, no boring slow bits.
I'm hoping for a second book, I want to see what happens next! 😁

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kerrie
  • Kerrie
  • 02-02-2022

Preposterous

The plot is preposterous.
Spoiler alert:-
The novel is billed as ‘anti - boyfriend’ it’s not! Yes the ‘boyfriend’ is a ‘baddie’ BUT actually the female characters are stereotypical tropes and far more worrying than the guy!!!
I was annoyed and disappointed that a female author chose to portray the main character’s two female best friends and her mother as enthrall to a man they’d all just met; repeatedly believing him rather than their friend/daughter. If I was so treated by my friends and mum (& also drugged by them) I’d ghost them and get therapy as clearly (with or without a head injury) I’d need to make better choices in my life.
Please can writer’s start writing about strong women with supportive friends and family, and not this drivel.
The narrator gives a good performance, but don’t waste your credit.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Audible is the VERY BEST app there is!💯🙌🏽❤️
  • Audible is the VERY BEST app there is!💯🙌🏽❤️
  • 08-01-2022

LOVED IT!💯👏🏽🤗narrator AMAZING too!💯👏🏽

Absolutely LOVED this book! Hooked from the first chapter🤗i was struggling to find a book that gripped me until this! Loved the story line and the narrator Christina Cole was truly BRILLIANT 👏🏽💯she has an amazing talent! She done lots of different voices SO well, and she made this book just so easy to listen to and imagine you are there! I have already looked for more books by Michelle, and also Christina as both are FABULOUS! Thank you Michelle for a WONDERFUL book😁 and thank you Christina for reading this SO BRILLIANTLY👏🏽 im gutted it’s now finished! Please hurry with the second one🤗🙏🏽♥️thank you audible for another AMAZING book!💯💯💯💯👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽♥️xxx

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Johnny
  • Johnny
  • 14-02-2022

Giving up

Unfortunately I’m giving up on this audiobook. Storyline is so far fetched and any friend or family member would have called the police instantly

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rox
  • Rox
  • 10-01-2022

Underwhelming

This story had the potential of being gripping and suspenseful but ended up being contrived and weak. The plot was predictable and some of the characters including the protagonist, were grey.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SweetRita
  • SweetRita
  • 01-04-2022

Loved it

I was fascinated by the characters and the plot! I would definitely recommend this book even if you are not a Michelle France's fan. Once read never forgotten and the door opens to the rest of the series.😋

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janalgarve
  • Janalgarve
  • 17-02-2022

Jan in Portugal

I was disappointed with this story after loving ‘The Girlfriend ‘ and ‘The Temp’. It was rather long and drawn out and I’m hoping it doesn’t go into a book 2 ! It just didn’t get exciting enough for me but the narrator was brilliant.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.