Try free for 30 days

  • The Bordeaux Book Club

  • By: Gillian Harvey
  • Narrated by: Lucy Scott
  • Length: 8 hrs and 30 mins
  • 3.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

1 credit a month to buy any audiobook in our entire collection.
Access to thousands of additional audiobooks and Originals from the Plus Catalogue.
Member-only deals & discounts.
Auto-renews at $16.45/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Bordeaux Book Club cover art

The Bordeaux Book Club

By: Gillian Harvey
Narrated by: Lucy Scott
Try Premium Plus free

$16.45 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $25.99

Buy Now for $25.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

Love books? The Bordeaux Book Club is seeking new members!

When Leah and her husband moved to France, it was with the dream of becoming self-sufficient. But in truth, it’s not the ‘good life’ she’d imagined, as three hours of digging barely yield a single straggly carrot. Worse, her teenage daughter is acting up, and her husband seems to find every strange excuse under the hot French sun to disappear.

So when her friend entreats her to join the new book club she’s forming, Leah decides it’s something she will do for herself. The chance to make new friends, to drink a few glasses of wine, and to escape into stories that take her miles away from the life she’d thought would be her own happy-ever-after.

But the book club is a strange group of misfits. There’s prickly Grace, who lives alone and seems to know everybody and like no-one. Buttoned-up Monica, who says her husband is away and appears to be parenting her baby all alone. Handsome builder George, who has barely read a book before. And Alfie – who is a full two decades younger than everyone else, and is hiding a devastating secret…

As the stories they read begin to bring the new friends closer together, Leah is about to discover that happy-ever-afters don’t always look how you expect them to…

A gorgeously escapist listen from the bestselling author of A Year at the French Farmhouse, perfect for fans of Veronica Henry, Jo Thomas and Fiona Valpy.

©2024 Gillian Harvey (P)2024 Boldwood Books

Critic Reviews

I inhaled this absolute joy of a book in two greedy sittings. Wonderful! Gillian Harvey never disappoints and I can’t recommend this escapist gem of novel highly enough.’ (Nicola Gill, author)

Wonderfully warm and enchanting, The Bordeaux Book Club immerses the reader in two tantalizing worlds: the book club that turns into something much more, and the dream of “let's-buy-a-farmhouse-in-France”… With empathy, insight, and humour, The Bordeaux Book Club will delight readers seeking their own escape and meaningful camaraderie over the joys of literature, laughter, and love.’ (Natalie Jenner, author)

Like a cold glass of Chablis on a hot summer’s day, this lovely bookish story will refresh and restore you with its quirky mix of characters and lush French setting.’ (Beth Morrey, author)

A really heartwarming and satisfying read – full of character and warmth, like a glass of red wine with friends on a French summer’s evening. Formidable!’ (Nancy Peach, author)

A wonderful, heartwarming story… This novel not only celebrates the timeless power of fiction, but explores themes of loneliness in all its forms, of friendship and self-acceptance… A joy to read, so evocative of the Bordeaux region and with each character painted vividly and sympathetically. A book to utterly immerse yourself in. I loved it!’ (Louise Fein, author)

What listeners say about The Bordeaux Book Club

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.