Get Your Free Audiobook

Tell Me a Lie

By: CJ Carver
Narrated by: Peter Silverleaf
Series: Dan Forrester, Book 2
Length: 10 hrs and 3 mins
4 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

Non-member price: $36.45

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

How do you protect your family when you can't remember who's hunting them? A gripping international thriller from CWA Debut Dagger winner CJ Carver.

A family in England is massacred, the father left holding the shotgun.

PC Lucy Davies is convinced he's innocent.

A sleeper agent in Moscow requests an urgent meeting with Dan Forrester, referencing their shared past.

His amnesia means he has no idea whom he can trust.

An aging oligarch in Siberia gathers his henchmen to discuss an English accountant.

It's Dan's wife.

Perfect for fans of Lee Child and Mason Cross.

Narrated by Peter Silverleaf.

©2019 CJ Carver (P)2019 Bonnier Books UK

Critic Reviews

"Hard, fast and real - a solid gold A-grade thriller." (Lee Child)  

"A terrific page-turner. Heart-stopping action and a heroine with guile as well as guts." (Harlan Coben)   

"CJ Carver gives us everything: high-octane action, vivid characters, and thought-provoking mystery." (Meg Gardiner, author of The Burning Mind)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laney
  • Laney
  • 07-08-2019

Let Down By The Narrator

Whoever chose the narrator did neither the author nor the story any favours. I was so close to abandoning this book because of his lazy, uninspiring performance.
The story was okay if more than a little far-fetched.
I won't be going back for more.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pauline
  • Pauline
  • 22-06-2019

Shame about the Narrator!

What a horrendous narrater, he gabbles, runs out of breath because he is reading so fast, there is no difference in character voices - I could go on!
The story, however, is very good. I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in the series and eagerly downloaded this one, which switches between the young police officer and Dan, the ex-MI5 agent. Again the narrator spoils it totally by not making clear when he is switching place and protagonist. I had to rewind several times - something I have never had to do before when listening to an audiobook.
I am going to get the third book in the series, even though it is read by the same person, and just hope he has since learned how to tell a story!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Charlotte
  • Charlotte
  • 08-05-2019

Another great story.

No 2 in the series. Am going to relisten to no 3!!!!!!! Please write some more in the series. So good. And different. Thoroughly recommend all 3.