Get Your Free Audiobook

Tastes Like Fear

DI Marnie Rome 3
Narrated by: Imogen Church
Series: D.I. Marnie Rome, Book 3
Length: 13 hrs and 18 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (15 ratings)

Non-member price: $29.96

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A dark, compelling Marnie Rome novel, rich with psychological insight, from the winner of the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year. For fans of Clare Mackintosh and Alex Marwood.

The fragile young girl who causes the fatal car crash disappears from the scene. A runaway who doesn't want to be found, she only wants to return to the man who understands her and offers her warmth, comfort, a home. He gives her shelter. Just as he gives shelter to the other lost girls who live in his house.

D.I. Marnie Rome thinks that she knows families, their secrets and their fault lines. But as she begins investigating the girl's disappearance nothing can prepare her for what she's about to face.

©2016 Sarah Hilary (P)2016 Headline Digital

Critic Reviews

"Intelligently and fluently written with a clever plot and an energetic pace, dealing with harrowing topics and shot through with humanity." (Cath Staincliffe)
"Written with the verve and assurance of a future star." (Steven Dunne)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jackie
  • Jackie
  • 18-04-2016

Fantastic

Best book I've listened to in ages, brilliantly written, great story and well narrated - Sarah Hillary is amazing

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jaye
  • Jaye
  • 15-08-2016

Unmissable book!

Having read books one and two and really enjoying them, I wondered whether this book Would be as enjoyable, well I was wrong, Sarah once again kept the main characters but there are undertones from the two previous books mainly to do with Di Marnie Rome's character and her past namely Stephen the young man who committed a horrific crime that touched Marnie's life personally. I will say no more well worth reading the books in order. I like the way Marnie's character grows as a person in her job and in particular her relationship with her colleague Sergeant DS Jake they work so well as a team. My only qualm was that I was time short as I would have liked to have completed this book in one sitting. If you like thrillers then this book is for you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lee-Anne Williamson
  • Lee-Anne Williamson
  • 31-01-2018

Fantastic!

The Marnie Rome stories keep getting better, I'm really looking forward to the next one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lorna
  • Lorna
  • 23-09-2017

Third book of the series & still going strong!

I have really enjoyed this series and this book is no exception, twisting and turning to the very end and superbly narrated as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeannette
  • Jeannette
  • 18-09-2017

Brilliant

Brilliantly read, well done Imogen Church, will be on the look out for more of your audio books best wishes Jeannette allerston 😊 x

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Colette
  • Colette
  • 14-04-2016

Loved it

Another great addition to this series. Really interesting well developed story. Brilliant narration. Roll on book 4.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for clare stewart
  • clare stewart
  • 12-04-2016

It was ok

This seemed to go on and on and on, and could have lost a few chapters. It's not as good as previous books. DI Rome is just a bit boring I'm afraid!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shi Shu Li
  • Shi Shu Li
  • 21-08-2018

the narrator is grating

I struggled through the second book but I just can't do this again, she butchers all the dramatic scenes which are already toe-curlingly over-phrased. nope.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. F. Wrin
  • J. F. Wrin
  • 03-06-2018

Poor voices

I left a review for the last book in which I said that the narrator made most of the men sound like cretins. No change here. I bought 3 for 2, so had to see this to the end but will not buy anything narrated by someone who drags out half the narration as if she can’t be arsed, or because she thinks it sounds good.

The book itself, I suspect, is much better than this reading allows.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Avril
  • Avril
  • 03-08-2018

Struggling

It sounded as if might be good. But I’m less than half way through and the reader is grating on me so much I can’t be ithered to listen to the end. Imogen Church reads with the slow inflexibility of a sonorous parson delivering a sermon and without much of a change of intonation. Sorry.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful