Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $29.75

Buy Now for $29.75

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and Girls of Paper and Fire, a witch cursed to never love meets a girl hiding her own dangerous magic, and the two strike a dangerous bargain to save their queendom.

Tamsin is the most powerful witch of her generation. But after committing the worst magical sin, she’s exiled by the ruling Coven and cursed with the inability to love. The only way she can get those feelings back - even for just a little while - is to steal love from others.

Wren is a source - a rare kind of person who is made of magic, despite being unable to use it herself. Sources are required to train with the Coven as soon as they discover their abilities, but Wren - the only caretaker to her ailing father - has spent her life hiding her secret.

When a magical plague ravages the queendom, Wren’s father falls victim. To save him, Wren proposes a bargain: if Tamsin will help her catch the dark witch responsible for creating the plague, then Wren will give Tamsin her love for her father.

Of course, love bargains are a tricky thing, and these two have a long, perilous journey ahead of them - that is, if they don’t kill each other first.

©2021 Adrienne Tooley. All rights reserved. (P)2021 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about Sweet & Bitter Magic

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

5 stars

Sometimes two girls going on a quest to stop a magical plague and falling in love along the way is something that can be so personal.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good book poor narration

I really enjoyed the story and the characters and everything about the writing. Unfortunately the narrator for Ren’s POV was extremely hard to listen to. There was a pause after every word, like a full stop. The audio quality and volume would change from sentence to sentence. It was very jarring and hard to concentrate on the story.

If you’re tossing up between the physical book and audiobook I’d go with the actual book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Megan Chambers
  • Megan Chambers
  • 26-05-2021

robotic narrator

The story was pretty good, and I think I really would have liked it of it weren't for the narrator sounding like a slow robot. I recommend this book, but not the audiobook.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Megan A Field
  • Megan A Field
  • 16-06-2021

awesome

I really loved the little bits of classic fair tales that were thrown in there. they were different but recognizable for what they were.
they sorry was really good and had a few surprises too.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer Greenlees
  • Jennifer Greenlees
  • 18-05-2021

This book was fantastic!

I love this book! The mystery, the suspense, the romance, all was perfect! Ferdelle Capistrano and Andrea Emmes did a really excellent job performing this story! I thoroughly enjoyed their narration.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roy
  • Roy
  • 07-05-2021

Great book

The book and narration is well worth a listen. Interesting characters, world and story. although there are some minor issues. it feels like one of the characters doesn't really have proper motivation for the "journey" in the story. I do wish there were some extra motivation, and it could easily have been fixed by mixing in parts from the rest of the story. Parts of the story was also Very predictable. To the point where you'll know what's going to happen 2-3 chapters before it happens. To not spoil anything, I won't go into details. But other then that, there are little to complain about. I'd say it's a very good book with good characters and a pretty satisfying ending.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for keren giladi
  • keren giladi
  • 19-04-2021

Best book EVER

I loved this book it was so amazing and so lovely and Beautiful is just loved it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elisa Alvarez
  • Elisa Alvarez
  • 01-04-2021

A good read indeed

writing and story telling was fantastic my only complaint was the climax it just wasn't really there. when characters come into contact with the great evil there is usually some epic battle but here that felt absent. I will say the trek and the world building was beautifully done, so that plus I could finish it within a day brings it to 4stars great job author hope we get a sequel:)

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-03-2021

Amazing Story and Narrators

Wow! I enjoyed it so much! The story was exciting, and the two narrators did a fantastic job! It is a debut Novel but really good! I will definitely read this writer's book in the future.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Grace A
  • Grace A
  • 21-08-2021

I like that this wasn’t your average boy girl

Romantic book. Tired of hearing the same love story and this was different. The story was good not great. The characters where good not great.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cnycitylady
  • cnycitylady
  • 21-04-2021

2.5 an after school special

This story started off strong, but slowly soured. The tale didn't have any room to breathe or grow because the author just wanted to get to the end. Also the narration was horribly choppy. The woman who read Wren's part was better than the Tamzin woman. She waa ghastly.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.