Get Your Free Audiobook

Sweeping Up the Heart

Narrated by: Lisa Flanagan
Length: 2 hrs and 52 mins
Non-member price: $25.41
After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From two-time Newbery Honor and New York Times best-selling author Kevin Henkes, this timeless novel about loss, loneliness, and friendship tells the story of the spring break that changes seventh-grader Amelia Albright’s life forever.

Amelia Albright dreams about going to Florida for spring break like everyone else in her class, but her father - a cranky and stubborn English professor - has decided Florida is too much adventure.

Now, Amelia is stuck at home with him and her babysitter, the beloved Mrs. O’Brien. The week ahead promises to be boring, until Amelia meets Casey at her neighborhood art studio. Amelia has never been friends with a boy before, and the experience is both fraught and thrilling. When Casey claims to see the spirit of Amelia’s mother (who died 10 years before), the pair embarks on an altogether different journey in their attempt to find her.

Using crisp, lyrical, literary writing and moments of humor and truth, award-winning author Kevin Henkes deftly captures how it feels to be almost 13.

With themes of family, death, grief, creativity, and loyalty, Sweeping Up the Heart is for fans of Kate DiCamillo, Rebecca Stead, Lauren Wolk, Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, and Pam Muñoz Ryan.

©2019 Kevin Henkes (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

No Reviews are Available