Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $29.26

Buy Now for $29.26

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

This contemporary middle-grade novel, adapted for audio with a full-cast production, about family and belonging from New York Times best-selling author Lucy Knisley, is a perfect listen for fans of Awkward and Be Prepared.

Jen is used to not getting what she wants. So suddenly moving across the country and getting new stepsisters shouldn't be too much of a surprise.

Jen did not want to leave the city. She did not want to move to a farm with her mom and her mom's new boyfriend, Walter. She did not want to leave her friends and her dad. 

Most of all, Jen did not want to get new "sisters", Andy and Reese. 

As if learning new chores on Peapod Farm wasn't hard enough, having to deal with perfect-at-everything Andy might be the last straw for Jen. Besides cleaning the chicken coop, trying to keep up with the customers at the local farmers' market, and missing her old life, Jen has to deal with her own insecurities about this new family...and where she fits in. 

New York Times best-selling author Lucy Knisley brings to life a story inspired from her own childhood in an amazing journey of unlikely friends, sisters, and home.

Audio cast list:

  • Lauren Fortgang as Jen
  • Sarah Mollo-Christensen as Mom
  • Patricia Santomasso as Andy
  • With Kristen DiMercurio as Reese, Bailey Carr as Victoria, James Fouhey as Eddie, Neil Hellegers as Steve Morgan, Sean Patrick Hopkins as Walter, Joshua Kane as the Post Office Clerk, Amy Landon as Bonnie, and Barrett Leddy as Mr. Archer 

"Funny, sweet, and real." (Jennifer and Matthew Holm, co-creators of the best-selling Babymouse series)

"This book is gorgeous. Highly recommended." (Kristen Gudsnuk, creator of Making Friends)

©2020 Lucy Knisley (P)2020 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

“This candid, heartwarming look at a child grappling with major changes will resonate with fans of Raina Telgemeier and Svetlana Chmakova and anyone trying to find their place.” (School Library Journal, starred review)

“Knisley balances humor and deeply felt emotion to capture the particular unfairness of being a child at the mercy of parental decisions.” (Publishers Weekly)

"Painfully realistic, this is a strong addition to the middle-grade shelf.” (Kirkus Reviews)

More from the same

What listeners say about Stepping Stones

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.