Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with a free trial

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $25.82

Buy Now for $25.82

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

A heartwarming, uplifting village romance for fans of Holly Martin, Tilly Tennant and Cathy Bramley. 

Buying a thatched cottage in the country may not be the usual cure for a broken heart. But after Clara Maxwell finds out her boyfriend and best friend have been sneaking around behind her back, packing her bags and leaving everything in London behind feels like it's the only way forward. When Henry Garnett, her (rather handsome) new contractor, turns up with his little daughter Pansy and a van shaped like a cottage in tow, she isn't sure whether to laugh or cry. What on earth has she gotten herself into? Still, there is something strangely lovable about the people in the little village of Merryknowe, from Rachel Brown, the quiet, lonely girl who bakes magical confections for the tearooms, to Tassie McIver, a little old lady with a lot of wisdom and a penchant for reading tea leaves. With all the heartbreak of the year behind her, could Acorn Cottage be the fresh start Clara so desperately wants? 

©2021 Kate Forster (P)2021 W F Howes

Critic Reviews

"Charming and totally absorbing [...] I could not put this down!" (Holly Martin)

What listeners say about Starting Over at Acorn Cottage

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant!

I do believe I have a new favourite author! I didn't want it to end, I could have continued listening for an entire year. looking forward to more of Kate's books appearing on Audible

excellent narration too, really felt the characters

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Wonderful Story

It a wonderful story I was completely hooked. The narrator was excellent too. I haven't read any of Kate Forster's book but I will definitely be reading all she has written. I thoroughly enjoyed the read. I am a budding author myself and on my first book. If I can write something like this story I will be so pleased. Well Done Kate.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Page E Lie
  • Page E Lie
  • 07-09-2021

Delightful, magical, and fun!

I stumbled upon this audiobook in a sale and am so glad that I did -- how wonderful! It was the cutest story! Clara Maxwell finds out that her boyfriend is cheating on her with her best friend, so she moves forward with her plan to move to the countryside and to rehab a cottage, sight unseen. Well, that cottage turns out to be very ramshackle, indeed, and the "town" that it is in is barely a stop in the road with a "tea shop" run by a horrible woman who treats her daughter barely better than a slave. Fast forward a few days and Clara has hired a handy man named Henry who happens to be gorgeous (of course!) and to have an adorable little girl named Pansy. She starts to make friends with the lonely and ill-treated young woman from the tea shop, Rachel, and, even an interesting older lady named Tassie, who can tell your fortune by reading tea leaves! They form a little family unit and close friendships and it is so sweet, yet startlingly deep, too. I highly recommend.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracy
  • Tracy
  • 21-01-2021

Slower than slow

Sorry to leave a negative review but this book was so slow. The reader didn’t help.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.