Try free for 30 days

  • Starting Over at Acorn Cottage

  • By: Kate Forster
  • Narrated by: Francesca Waite
  • Length: 7 hrs and 35 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (29 ratings)

A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook free.
1 credit/month after trial—to buy any title you like, yours to keep.
Listen all you want to a selection of thousands of Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
$16.45 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Starting Over at Acorn Cottage cover art

Starting Over at Acorn Cottage

By: Kate Forster
Narrated by: Francesca Waite
Free with 30-day trial

$16.45/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $21.99

Buy Now for $21.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

A heartwarming, uplifting village romance for fans of Holly Martin, Tilly Tennant and Cathy Bramley.

Buying a thatched cottage in the country may not be the usual cure for a broken heart. But after Clara Maxwell finds out her boyfriend and best friend have been sneaking around behind her back, packing her bags and leaving everything in London behind feels like it's the only way forward. When Henry Garnett, her (rather handsome) new contractor, turns up with his little daughter Pansy and a van shaped like a cottage in tow, she isn't sure whether to laugh or cry. What on earth has she gotten herself into? Still, there is something strangely lovable about the people in the little village of Merryknowe, from Rachel Brown, the quiet, lonely girl who bakes magical confections for the tearooms, to Tassie McIver, a little old lady with a lot of wisdom and a penchant for reading tea leaves. With all the heartbreak of the year behind her, could Acorn Cottage be the fresh start Clara so desperately wants?

©2021 Kate Forster (P)2021 W F Howes

Critic Reviews

"Charming and totally absorbing [...] I could not put this down!" (Holly Martin)

What listeners say about Starting Over at Acorn Cottage

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the subject of childhood trauma

Thank you for writing this story and illuminating the fact that childhood trauma leaves a massive impact on an adult and needs addressing

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Val
  • 05-05-2024

Good listening and story.

Enjoyable. Good storyline. Thought provoking. Nice to listen to something with happy ending. Good author. This is the fourth of her books I have read. Looking forward to her next.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant!

I do believe I have a new favourite author! I didn't want it to end, I could have continued listening for an entire year. looking forward to more of Kate's books appearing on Audible

excellent narration too, really felt the characters

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sue.55

This book was an absolute joy to listen to despite covering some difficult subjects such as loss and abuse. I was alternately laughing or crying at the antics of the characters who brought life to the story. Fabulous narration of so many characters.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Wonderful Story

It a wonderful story I was completely hooked. The narrator was excellent too. I haven't read any of Kate Forster's book but I will definitely be reading all she has written. I thoroughly enjoyed the read. I am a budding author myself and on my first book. If I can write something like this story I will be so pleased. Well Done Kate.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another magical book

loved it as I have all the others I have read by this author. i enjoy the magic woven through the stories about relateable people. thank you.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

enchanting

a great storyline with believable characters. I'm now a follower of this author! highly recommend

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.