Get Your Free Audiobook

Spark City

The Spark City Cycle, Book 1
Narrated by: Euan Morton
Series: The Spark City Cycle, Book 1
Length: 18 hrs and 3 mins
4.4 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

Non-member price: $60.73

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The Hunt is coming.

Despite his warriors' lineage, Erroh would rather waste his potential stumbling alone from one tavern to the next, drinking and gambling. Fate, however, has greater plans for him.

After decades of peace, a great war draws near, and though he doesn't know it, he is standing in the way of the first wave. What is more, and very much to his dismay, he's about to find out he's not entirely alone either. But Erroh has a plan, a simple plan.

It'll never work.

A reluctant coming of age epic packed with heroic sword fights, fierce battles, and slow-burn romance. Perfect for fans of Patrick Rothfuss and Brandon Sanderson, find out why thousands of readers have fallen for Amazon number one best-selling author Robert J Power's epic fantasy series.

©2018 Robert J. Power (P)2020 Podium Publishing

More from the same

What listeners say about Spark City

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not bad, but...

Not a bad story overall, but the weak points are tough to ignore. There are some interesting plot moments and some great character building, however there is also a lot of ‘filler’ content that is either very repetitive or doesn’t move the story along in any real way. This could be overlooked had some of the best angles of the story been resolved in the conclusion, however it feels like there is way too much left to be continued in the sequel. The narrator does a great job of bringing characters to life.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fantasy Reader
  • Fantasy Reader
  • 10-04-2020

Felt kind of cheated.

I really don't like when a book is compared to Brandon Sanderson or Patrick Rothfuss. They are both authors that craft a world that you can get lost in. Their characters while flawed, feel like real people. This book was kind of a disappointment. Spark city is more of an odd romance novel than an epic fantasy. The characters don't always act normally, which could be excused somewhat by the whole dumb and young love, but it is pretty bad. There is a lot of romance in the book, but mostly it is talking about their feelings. The world building is not really there. Spark city is kind of like the capital of the new world and other than having pretty lights and hosting an odd version of the bachelor. Which that is a whole other thing. You spend very little time in Spark city and being the namesake of the book I would think that I would care about it. The little you find out about it makes you not even care about any of the residents there. One good thing. I thought most of the battle scenes were ok. The main character could never really lose unless an actual army was on top of him, but they were written well. What made me dislike this book is the most is how the characters just did not feel real to me. They made choices that made little sense just to drive a plot. Caused misunderstandings, just to make the plot go the way the author wanted. The plot drove the characters, instead of the other way around.

114 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dillon K.
  • Dillon K.
  • 10-06-2020

I literally pulled my car over to write this.

Do you enjoy listening to the MC getting the absolute shit kicked out of him and then groveling like a dog on his knees for hours? How about characters that accept bad things that happen to them and just shrug and say “guess this is my life”? If so then this is the book for you. Comparing this to Patrick Rothfuss is the biggest disrespect I’ve ever seen put to his name.

99 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Charles Grayson
  • Charles Grayson
  • 09-04-2020

Remarkable

The book is far better written than most of its genre. There is, for instance, almost no exposition, contrived conversation to tell the reader about the world or people. Instead, our protagonist is a mystery and we only find out about him slowly as he interacts with people he encounters on his journey. What is also done well is displaying our protagonist's immaturity through his awkward interactions with potential romantic interests. Nothing he does is overtly horrible, but just demonstrates how little he knows himself, which is what you'd expect from someone in his late teens. Particularly amusing is how the author shows a character's shifting point of view; he doesn't do this by crudely stating that a character changed his point of view, but instead quietly slips in different adjectives to describe the same thing. For instance, "pouty" lips becomes "cruel" lips as a character becomes angry with another.

39 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 30-03-2020

Great book!! Don’t be detracted by description!! Not to be missed!

I have not enjoyed a book this much in a long long time. It took me through a gamut of sensations one of them was sleeplessness because I had to listen another was total goosebumps everywhere even on the top of my head and those are painful ones. Don’t let the dust cover description that this is a coming of age story sway you....is so well written I think you’ll be very pleased!

25 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 24-08-2020

A super treat!

I have read/listened to thousands of books during my 70+yrs and count myself Blessed to have been privileged to have done so ... with that in mind, it takes those special books to make a “super” impression and this book, the first of a series, has done just that ... I finished it quickly, over a 2 day period of time, desiring to find out how this first book was going to end... now I must wait for the 2nd book but with age I have developed patience except when the book is in my hands or, in this case, when it is an audible book, in my ears ... of course, I highly recommend the book wherein there are young heroes and older villains, adventures, love, desperation, and intrigue in a harsh world ... in today’s world wherein we have to often search for good entertainment, books such as Mr Power has provided are most welcomed ... here is hoping the rest of the series is as good and that those books appear in my library quickly ... thank you Audible and a big thanks to Mr Power!

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for VJG
  • VJG
  • 29-03-2020

The hero and fantasy escape I need right now

At last! A story that holds my attention fast and makes me want to turn off the news and disappear into the journey with our young - but complicated - hero. And a pleasure to listen to Euan Morton's performance of it. Bravo.

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for brian
  • brian
  • 03-06-2020

Gender Bullying

This book is about demeaning men for the pleasure of women. It also shows the governing and relationships are not about gender. but mutual respect for others and self. It also shows how cultural programming effects of youth development and social decay. There is some hummer, and for that, I will try to finish it;)

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for janet stohel
  • janet stohel
  • 15-04-2020

Very slow at the beginning gets better as it goes on

Very slow at the beginning almost didn’t listen to it all glad I listen to it little longer and then was great

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ambrosio Garza
  • Ambrosio Garza
  • 09-04-2020

ARE YOU NOT ENTERTAINED

The book is amazing can’t wait to hear the next one every thing about it suspense the turn of events in the book I started the book and made coffee and had it black bitter to hear it all to the end

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. Knight
  • M. Knight
  • 06-04-2020

Excellent!

This was an accidental purchase but I have no regrets. This book was exquisitely executed and the narration was amazing. Well worth the credit. I am going to try and find book 2 now.

10 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. Paddon
  • M. Paddon
  • 07-04-2020

An excellent read throughout.

Buy this. I thought I'd get that out of the way first. This book does have the odd niggle I found, but overall it is really good and you should get it. The two main characters are well-rounded and their romance is believable to read, even with their difficult start, or perhaps because of it. Though I will say I found the whole testing part of getting a mate was utterly nonsensical and as these people are referred to as Alphas I found it annoying how much the main character came across as a confused beta male during this. The plot is nothing outlandish, as you have some murderous band of soldiers roaming around wiping out villages and small towns and our hero and heroine find themselves running into the front wave of that force. As I say nothing ground breaking as a story idea, but it is well-done here. Lots of battles, and lots of scenes that will make you laugh and quite likely shed the odd tear if you are one to get deeply attached to the story and the characters. As I said at the start - buy this book. Great addition to your epic fantasy book collection.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for joomla girl
  • joomla girl
  • 30-03-2020

Wowsers! Yes Yes Yes!

Superb omg absolutely superbbbb buy this listen to this and tell your friends - truly fabulous xx Robert Power you bloody legend!! Ps note to the narrator - shone is pronounced shon and buoyed is pronounced boyed xxx

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M
  • M
  • 16-04-2020

No spark

Interesting world. Uninteresting characters. Structurally flawed. Bland and slightly annoying narration. Personally I won't be back for part 2.

1 person found this helpful