Get Your Free Audiobook

Non-member price: $22.91

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

In this memoir, iconic singer Linda Ronstadt weaves together a captivating story of her origins in Tucson, Arizona, and her rise to stardom in the Southern California music scene of the 1960s and '70s.

Born into a musical family, Linda's childhood was filled with everything from Hank Williams to Gilbert and Sullivan, Mexican folk music to jazz and opera. Her artistic curiosity blossomed early, and she and her siblings began performing their own music for anyone who would listen. Now, 12 Grammy Awards later, Ronstadt tells the story of her wide-ranging and utterly unique musical journey. 

Ronstadt arrived in Los Angeles just as the folk-rock movement was beginning to bloom, setting the stage for the development of country-rock. After the dissolution of her first band, the Stone Poneys, Linda went out on her own and quickly found success. As part of the coterie of like-minded artists who played at the Troubadour club in West Hollywood, she helped define the musical style that dominated American music in the 1970s. One of her early back-up bands went on to become the Eagles, and Linda would become the most successful female artist of the decade. She has sold more than 100 million records, won numerous awards, and toured all over the world. Linda has collaborated with legends such as Emmylou Harris, Dolly Parton, Aaron Neville, J.D. Souther, Randy Newman, Neil Young, Bette Midler, and Frank Sinatra, as well as Homer Simpson and Kermit the Frog. By the time she retired in 2009, Ronstadt had spent four decades as one of the most popular singers in the world, becoming the first female artist in popular music to release four consecutive platinum albums. 

In Simple Dreams, Ronstadt reveals the eclectic and fascinating journey that led to her long-lasting success. And she describes it all in a voice as beautiful as the one that sang "Heart like a Wheel" - longing, graceful, and authentic.

©2013 Linda Ronstadt. All rights reserved. “Long Long Time”: Words and music by Gary White © Universal Music Corporation. Reproduced by permission of Hal Leonard. “Heart Like a Wheel”: Words and music by Anna McGarrigle © Anna McGarrigle Music. Administered by Kobalt Music Publishing America, Inc. Reproduced by permission of Kobalt Music. “Still Within the Sound of My Voice”: Words and music by Jimmy Webb © Seventh Son Music, Inc., c/o Music of Windswept and Bug Music, Inc. Reproduced by permission of Hal Leonard. (P)2013 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

More from the same

What listeners say about Simple Dreams

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ana
  • Ana
  • 31-12-2020

Gracias por compartir su voz, Linda....

I am also a Chicana from the same generation. My family also rooted in Sonora, Arizona, and Cali. As soon as I could get my 'ears' to this book I was on it. The talent and soul Linda shares with the world transcends genre . Most of all I was so impressed with the level of professional integrity -- I was married to a professional musician - and it is a difficult and physically taxing art. She never lost herself. Gracias

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Starrenite
  • Starrenite
  • 20-01-2021


For anyone who likes any of Linda’s songs, this is a must read/listen! You won’t be disappointed.

2 people found this helpful

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.