Try free for 2 months

1 credit a month to use on any title, yours to keep (you’ll use your first credit on this title).
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
Access to exclusive deals and discounts.
AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.
Serpent & Dove cover art

Serpent & Dove

By: Shelby Mahurin
Narrated by: Holter Graham,Saskia Maarleveld
Try for $0.00

AUD $16.45/mo after 2 months. Renews automatically. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $26.99

Buy Now for $26.99

Pay using voucher balance (if applicable) then card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions Of Use and Privacy Notice and authorise Audible to charge your designated credit card or another available credit card on file.

Publisher's Summary

An Amazon Best Book of 2019

New York Times Best Seller

B&N's YA Book Club Pick

Indiebound Best Seller

Number Six on the 2019 Kids’ Indie Next List

"A brilliant debut, full of everything I love: a sparkling and fully realized heroine, an intricate and deadly system of magic, and a searing romance that kept me reading long into the night. Serpent & Dove is an absolute gem of a book." (Sarah J. Maas, number one New York Times best-selling author of the A Court of Thorns and Roses series)

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation - marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy trilogy will leave listeners burning for more.

©2019 Shelby Mahurin (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Serpent & Dove

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    146
  • 4 Stars
    85
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    110
  • 4 Stars
    72
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    132
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ditch the male narrator and it would be a 5.

I literally just turned my bedroom light on to write this review at 1am because I’m so annoyed with the man narrator. Shelby if you read this, ditch him and just have the lady read it. The man is too fast, poor voices, outpaced...and just generally wrecked the performance for me. I’m about half way through the book and I can tell the story is will written but his performance is grating me to the point I may just give up and buy the paperback. Bear that in mind before you buy if you are sensitive to poor acting!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Male narrator spoke too fast

He was quite rushed a lot of the time, compared to the female narrator. Both did a great job! Story was awesome, loved the characters and how they developed throughout the plot.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great narrators

The narrators were very good. I love it when they have both Male and female readers for the 2 main characters. The female narrator was especially clear and easy to listen too.
the book itself was great. the storyline was interesting, and there were a few plot twists that I didnt see coming until the last second, which is so refreshing.
waiting impatiently for the second book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

An ok love story

The female narator was good, but the male puld it down (I generaly prefere female narators, even fore male voices in audiobooks). He made all the females sound like ten year old whiny kids.
The story hadd some potensial, but never realy managed to get to that "some thing" special. It is an ok story of love and opposits, good and bad, not being black and white.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

No tension or passion

Lou kept forgetting that she had a ring of invisibility and the one time she did remember she dropped it.

Reed and Lou had no chemistry between them and the only characters I found interesting were the supporting ones.

Won't read the next one

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoying everything EXCEPT the male narrator!

The first chapter read for Reid almost put me off listening to the rest of the story... I'm glad I pressed on because I am really enjoying the lore, the characters, the humour and the surprises, but the female narrator completely runs circles around the male narrator. It's a shame because I think a lot of people would be put off straight away.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Cringeworthy Male Narration

I'm about 2 hours in and although the storyline is sounding good I cannot overlook the male narrators voices and reading style. EVERY scene is read much too fast - as if the story is at a never ending climactic point... which leaves no room for slow and appropriate tension in places where the author has so obviously intended there to be... I tried adjusting the play speed which slightly helped but along with the speed issue, his voices for each character are just shockingly cringeworthy.... Every character (barring the main male character) sounds either weirdly evil or whiney AF. The female narrator, on the other hand, absolutely nails it - her voices and accents effortlort and natural. A shame she is not reading the entire book. Unsure if I can finish this one....

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Twists & Turns

A beautiful tale with surprising twists and turns. Saskia Maarleveld stole the show with her impersonations and beautiful performance of the main character Lu. Highly recommend the read. You won’t be disappointed 💛

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

The narrating for this book is absolutely amazing.

I don't normally get into fiction but the way this book is read it draws you into the story and it make it very hard to have any negative views. I loved every minute of it and can't wait for the sequel

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story.

interesting and gripping. had me hooked and I can wait to start the next book!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.