Get Your Free Audiobook

Blood & Honey

Serpent & Dove, Book 2
Series: Serpent & Dove, Book 2
Length: 14 hrs and 18 mins
4.3 out of 5 stars (25 ratings)

Non-member price: $47.68

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The stakes are higher. The witches are deadlier. And the romance is red-hot. The eagerly anticipated sequel to the New York Times and Indiebound best seller Serpent and Dove is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas. 

Lou, Reid, Coco, and Ansel are on the run from coven, kingdom, and church - fugitives with nowhere to hide. To survive, they need allies. Strong ones. But as Lou becomes increasingly desperate to save those she loves, she turns to a darker side of magic that may cost Reid the one thing he can’t bear to lose. 

Bound to her always, his vows were clear: Where Lou goes, he will go; and where she stays, he will stay.

Until death do they part.

©2020 Shelby Mahurin (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Blood & Honey

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Awesome as always!

I enjoyed it but not as much as the first book. The whole “we gotta chase and kill Morgan” is getting a little old. It would be nice if the plot progressed further, but other than that, I enjoyed the characters, relationship dynamics and snarky remarks!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kelly
  • Kelly
  • 07-09-2020

Really really awful

I loved Serpent and Dove, but the entire plot of Blood and Honey seems so forced. It just feels as if there are a bunch of contrived side quests the characters need to go on without much logic behind them. The story moved so slowly and could not hold my attention. On top of that, there is absolutely no believable love between Lou and Reid, even during the times where there is supposed to be love and heat and passion between them, so this really deflates the whole story. On top of all of this, the performance of Holter Graham, who plays Reid, is SO SO bad. He is so nasally and does the weirdest, most over the top scratchy straining voices for each character. Saskia Maarlevedly (Lou's voice), on the other hand, was really great.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachel Simmons
  • Rachel Simmons
  • 04-09-2020

Borderline good.

I enjoyed this book, however I definitely enjoyed the first one better. You never know it might be a great build up to the next book. It did kinda drag in some parts. But overall I would read it again.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for D Y
  • D Y
  • 03-09-2020

Author's Announcement Ruined Experience

It was good, but I would have preferred if Shelby Mahurin didn't announce that there was going to be a death. I immediately assumed (right) who was going to die without knowing anything else. It took away from the experience for me since I was expecting it for months before B&H was released. Narrators are okay. Not my favorite but I mostly got used to their voices. They did a pretty good job changing their voice for different characters. I didn't care for Maarleveld's Reid voice too much. I think it would have been better to read, not listen to. There was a lot going on and a lot of new characters to remember. I still liked it though! I will purchase the physical copy and see if I like it better. Right now I just feel sort of blah about it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 23-10-2020

what a great sequel

this is how a sequel should. be what a great character development especially lou and Reid this is how true couple ought to be ups and down but deep down they are for each other how reid character was beautifully written to reflect his own demones and thoughts and how the suspense was gripping how the events were greatly developed how the flow between the two books was connected and easy thank you

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lucinda
  • Lucinda
  • 12-10-2020

I’m wrecked

The female narrator was great, the male one was bad. Story is a bit forced and not even close to as good as the first, but it was worth it. The ending though. Again, i’m wrecked.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kaitlin
  • Kaitlin
  • 08-10-2020

The male voice actor

I loved the first book but this one was just a little much for me. So much angst and so many dumb decisions being made where in the last book it didn’t feel like that. Lou and Reid’s romance feels more forced in this book. But the absolute worst part of this is the male voice actor. My god he’s terrible I’m sorry. He sounds so grungy and raspy the whole time. It really ruined a lot of scenes and half of his accents I couldn’t understand. The female voice actress though was great so that at least balances it out a bit.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jillian
  • Jillian
  • 06-10-2020

Too Many Lover’s Quarrels

The story was good enough but there were too many lover’s quarrels and near death experiences. By the end, I wasn’t even rooting for the romance of the characters because so much of the book was just them arguing. Also, so many characters were fatally wounded then brought back with magic. And the only character who actually remained dead was the one who didn’t deserve their fate.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CJ
  • CJ
  • 01-10-2020

Not as good as the first book.

I really wanted to like this book. Alas, that was not the case. The main characters in this book became more and more unlikable as the story progressed. They constantly whined and couldn’t make decisions on how they felt. There was much too much internal struggle and I got bored halfway through the book. I eventually starting skimming the story. Instead of moving forward with the plot, scenes were drawn out unnecessarily. The book ends on a cliff hanger which frustrated me because the story was could have been wrapped up in the last 2 chapters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Riley Morgan
  • Riley Morgan
  • 23-09-2020

A sparkling follow-up to Serpant & Dove

This sequel to Serpant and Dove does not disappoint. It is action packed and will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very last second. The character growth of each character and the relationship arcs between characters is done so well throughout the entire book. You will feel as if you are right there with Lou and Reid and their crew of unlikely friends as they search to find Morgane. Every twist and turn will tug at your heart and make you hope that Shelby releases the next book ASAP.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mandy
  • Mandy
  • 23-09-2020

Meh...

It’s pretty good but like the first one better. The first one was like my favorite book of the year and this one isn’t... Lou is boarder line stupid and she’s so rude to Reid. Like girl your an idiot and he’s just trying to help you. I feel like they are on the outs most of the book. I like it when they bicker but not actually fighting in constant threat of separation.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for N. D. Taylor
  • N. D. Taylor
  • 16-10-2020

What’s with the accents?

I’m so perplexed at the narration of this book -the main characters are American, the setting appears to be France but the locals all come with Cockney (London) accents? Probably the only entertaining thing about this book to be honest. I nearly DNFd it on several occasions; the plot is boring and the characters have no depth. Won’t be reading the third book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-10-2020

Amazing

I loved this book and hope I don't have to wait too long for the next