Get Your Free Audiobook

SAS Great Escapes

Seven Great Escapes Made by Real Second World War Heroes
Narrated by: Leighton Pugh
Length: 9 hrs and 44 mins
Categories: History, Military
5 out of 5 stars (12 ratings)

Non-member price: $22.78

After 30 days, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

No food. No water. Out of ammo. Safety is south. But between there and here is 150 miles of barren desert – freezing at night, boiling in the day – populated solely by Ernst Rommel’s fearsome and deadly Afrika Corps.

What would you do? 

Give up? Or get on with it? 

For the seven SAS supermen in Damien Lewis’s explosive new audio exclusive, the answer was simple: Escape. Evade. Survive. From the mountains of Italy, to the deserts of Africa, these heroes epitomise the bravery, esprit de corps and daring do of Britain’s finest elite fighting force. 

Fans of Ant Middleton’s First Man In and Ben MacIntyre’s SAS: Rogue Heroes are in for a treat, as the SAS’s master chronicler, Damien Lewis, has produced a gripping, heart-in-the-mouth, real-life thriller. A Sunday Times number one best-selling author, this fresh look at the most audacious escapes the SAS made in the Second World War is white-knuckle listening of the highest calibre. 

Because if you put a fence in front of these men...they’ll climb it.

©2020 Damien Lewis (P)2020 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about SAS Great Escapes

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Killian iPad
  • Killian iPad
  • 28-05-2020

A Remarkable Narrative - well performed

Simply loving this release ..... it is some time now since my last purchase, really pleased I have broken in again. Well done Team Audible!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for denise armstrong
  • denise armstrong
  • 07-06-2020

proud to be british

a great read telling the world just how good the sad were and how proud we should be of these special people

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andy 51
  • Andy 51
  • 05-06-2020

Enthralling

I have read many books on World War 2 escapes and I have enjoyed this book and found it good listening, however as there was more than one story, I found the lack of more detail of the escapees journeys not as good as others I have read. Overall not the best Damien Lewis book but worth purchasing Leighton Pugh narration excellent.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-06-2020

Great book. Certainly recommend

Well written book and well narrated. Excellent stories of very courageous individuals. Thoroughly enjoyed listening to this

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paul carley
  • paul carley
  • 08-06-2020

fantastic chain of events

Easy to listen to and enjoyable, true heroes. these stories need to be told and passed down the generations.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Peter
  • Peter
  • 05-06-2020

The courage shown is without doubt inspiring

I enjoyed this narration it was excellent and at time I was with those courageous men on a mission my heart beating a little faster .
Major Stirling and Cornel Blair "Paddy" Maine exhibited outstanding leadership and their comrades followed not by blind obedience but by training and the understanding that they could complete a mission when the gas tank of fortitude was running on freash air and an inner strength took over .
A fascinating audio book excently narrated .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon Morgan
  • Simon Morgan
  • 22-07-2020

Great stories, strange performance

I really enjoyed the stories in this book,. The performance was good (good accents) but throughout the book the narator put in odd pauses and used strange inflections on words or phrases, this made the overall flow of the stories hard to follow at times.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lee
  • Lee
  • 21-07-2020

Great book

Great book very informative and great stories definitely would recommend if your interested in ww2

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah
  • Sarah
  • 18-07-2020

Gripping and informative

great compelling narrator. really interesting stories. Good length of each chapter for listening in 1-2 segments

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robert Black
  • Robert Black
  • 14-07-2020

Brave men one and all.

loved the stories of these brave men and what they endured as they evaded capture and escaped back to allied lines and safety.