Get Your Free Audiobook

  • SAS Great Escapes

  • Seven Great Escapes Made by Real Second World War Heroes
  • By: Damien Lewis
  • Narrated by: Leighton Pugh
  • Length: 9 hrs and 44 mins
  • Original Recording Audiobook
  • Categories: History, Europe
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (36 ratings)

Non-member price: $22.78

After 2 months, Audible is $16.45/mo. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

No food. No water. Out of ammo. Safety is south. But between there and here is 150 miles of barren desert – freezing at night, boiling in the day – populated solely by Ernst Rommel’s fearsome and deadly Afrika Corps.

What would you do? 

Give up? Or get on with it? 

For the seven SAS supermen in Damien Lewis’s explosive new audio exclusive, the answer was simple: Escape. Evade. Survive. From the mountains of Italy, to the deserts of Africa, these heroes epitomise the bravery, esprit de corps and daring do of Britain’s finest elite fighting force. 

Fans of Ant Middleton’s First Man In and Ben MacIntyre’s SAS: Rogue Heroes are in for a treat, as the SAS’s master chronicler, Damien Lewis, has produced a gripping, heart-in-the-mouth, real-life thriller. A Sunday Times number one best-selling author, this fresh look at the most audacious escapes the SAS made in the Second World War is white-knuckle listening of the highest calibre. 

Because if you put a fence in front of these men...they’ll climb it.

©2020 Damien Lewis (P)2020 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about SAS Great Escapes

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great stories

a wonderful selection of fascinating stories about man's resilience against all adversity. A very easy to listen book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tim
  • Tim
  • 24-10-2020

Terrific stories, brilliantly told and narrated.

The scale of sheer determination through adversity is both inspiring and humbling. Never again will I complain of sore legs or a heavy pack whilst hiking after listening to this. I wish the book was twice as long. Lewis does this kind of thing better than anyone else.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J.Brock
  • J.Brock
  • 09-06-2021

No movie can compete

Of all the spy and escape movie thrillers, the stories in “SAS Great Escapes” make any fictional tale seem dull and unimaginative. There are so many twists and turn a and just when you think the SAS escapees are in the clear, another roadblock is thrown in their paths. Damien Lewis keeps the story moving at a quick pace, adding to the natural tension. What a fun ride.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Killian iPad
  • Killian iPad
  • 28-05-2020

A Remarkable Narrative - well performed

Simply loving this release ..... it is some time now since my last purchase, really pleased I have broken in again. Well done Team Audible!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for denise armstrong
  • denise armstrong
  • 07-06-2020

proud to be british

a great read telling the world just how good the sad were and how proud we should be of these special people

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon Morgan
  • Simon Morgan
  • 22-07-2020

Great stories, strange performance

I really enjoyed the stories in this book,. The performance was good (good accents) but throughout the book the narator put in odd pauses and used strange inflections on words or phrases, this made the overall flow of the stories hard to follow at times.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Peter
  • Peter
  • 05-06-2020

The courage shown is without doubt inspiring

I enjoyed this narration it was excellent and at time I was with those courageous men on a mission my heart beating a little faster .
Major Stirling and Cornel Blair "Paddy" Maine exhibited outstanding leadership and their comrades followed not by blind obedience but by training and the understanding that they could complete a mission when the gas tank of fortitude was running on freash air and an inner strength took over .
A fascinating audio book excently narrated .

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andy 51
  • Andy 51
  • 05-06-2020

Enthralling

I have read many books on World War 2 escapes and I have enjoyed this book and found it good listening, however as there was more than one story, I found the lack of more detail of the escapees journeys not as good as others I have read. Overall not the best Damien Lewis book but worth purchasing Leighton Pugh narration excellent.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-06-2020

Great book. Certainly recommend

Well written book and well narrated. Excellent stories of very courageous individuals. Thoroughly enjoyed listening to this

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paul carley
  • paul carley
  • 08-06-2020

fantastic chain of events

Easy to listen to and enjoyable, true heroes. these stories need to be told and passed down the generations.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-06-2021

Real bravery

A good listen.

The stories of these brave young men are astonishing when you realise the age of the soldiers involved.


  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-05-2021

Absolutely gripping!

Listening/reading about these feats of courage and strength really put into perspective the society we live in today. The true events reported here make you realise that if a similar situation arose today, would we be as strong and tenacious? Having read a previous book by Damien Lewis I was drawn to this audiobook and will continue listen/read the remaining titles without fail.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kenny
  • Kenny
  • 01-05-2021

Classic derring do

A fantastical but obviously true story of the lengths our special forces went to to complete their mission and return home.

In the spirit of reconciliation, Audible Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.